Mini Reviews: Agnes Moor’s Wild Knight & Love, and You

mini-reviews-2

23674576Agnes Moor’s Wild Knight by Alyssa Cole
Release date: December 3rd, 2014
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing
Genre: Historical fiction, romance, novella
Format: eBook

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 2.02.59 PM.png

Goodreads | Amazon

Agnes Moor knows her place in the court of King James IV—as one of the “exotics” in his employ. When the king makes a kiss from Agnes the prize of a tourney, a mysterious knight plows through his opponents to claim it. But it isn’t chance. The Wild Knight has come for her, and her champion is after after the most elusive prize of all: her heart.

I discovered this short story while browsing diverse book aesthetics on Twitter. It was described as a steamy story set in medieval Scotland with a black heroine. I’m down for anything based in Scotland but the description just sounded so unique, unlike anything I’ve heard of before. So, I downloaded it right away! And oh my gosh was this story so good! Yes, it was quite short, being about 38 pages in length, but it felt completely satisfying.

The story revolves around Agnes, a young black woman living at the court of King James IV. She’s not a slave or there against her will. The author has written her as a strong and independent woman who uses her intelligence to act as an ambassador and spy for King James. She’s treated as an equal by the king and queen. As someone who has studied history, it’s wonderful to see non-white characters in medieval pieces. They were knights, monks, scholars, etc. Historical fiction authors need to stop erasing them from history!

Based on her role within Scotland and in order to help bring together King James’ court and the Highlanders, a tournament is held with the winner receiving a kiss from Agnes. This tournament is based on an actual contest called the Tournament of the Wild Knight and the Black Lady. In the story, the tournament is won by the Wild Knight, a man who refuses to reveal his true identity. Even though the reader doesn’t know who this man is for at least a quarter of the book…hot damn…the build up alone made my heart beat quicken!

Once the identity of the Wild Knight is revealed things really take off! The story is super romantic. The Wild Knight fought bravely for Agnes’ kiss but it’s more than that. Their backstory really sealed it for me. A bit of an outsider himself, the Wild Knight knows what it’s like not to fit into the court himself. For him it isn’t just about lust (although the sex scenes are super steamy) but about him finding an equal. Someone who is just as intelligent, passionate and strong as he is. I find that I can just talk on and on about this book which is strange because I usually have difficulty writing reviews for books that I loved. I really wish that this story was longer. The idea and characters were so rich and wonderful to read about. Can I have a sequel please?


34335011Love, and You by Gretchen Gomez 
Release date: April 4th, 2017
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing
Genre: Poetry
Format: eBook

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 2.02.59 PM.png

Goodreads | Amazon

one day i met a guy
who stole my heart,
we created a world
for ourselves.
and another day
he broke my heart
and shattered
my soul.

i took the tattered
pieces of this
broken soul and
became anew.

– here lies the hurting, the healing, and the learning

This poetry collection was absolutely beautiful! I don’t even have the words to explain the emotional rollercoaster I went through while reading it. It’s raw, painful and completely honest. The words really hit home because while I myself haven’t experienced some of the situations discussed in the poems, they could be applied to other events in my life. Most of the words spoke directly to me and even when they didn’t I felt the author’s pain, how much they meant to her. It brought tears to my eyes and made my heart ache. That’s why I adore poetry so much! It not only makes you reflect on your own life, but teaches you to glimpse and understand the feelings of others.

I can definitely see myself reading this collection over and over again. I purchased it as an eBook but plan on picking up a physical version soon. I highly recommend this book to everyone, even if you aren’t a fan of poetry. It’s not heavy on the symbolism and metaphors. It’s poetry for all people, written in a language and style that all can read, understand and identify with. So, go out (or hit up your favourite e-Book store) and get this gorgeous collection NOW!

One thought on “Mini Reviews: Agnes Moor’s Wild Knight & Love, and You

Leave a Reply

