Mini Reviews: Ensnared & Sparks of Light

mini-reviews-2

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

32472740Ensnared by Rita Stradling
Release date: May 23rd, 2017
Publisher: Kindle Press
Genre: New adult, science fiction, retelling
Format: eBook

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 2.02.59 PM copy 3

Goodreads | Amazon

Alainn’s father is not a bad man. He’s a genius and an inventor. When he’s hired to create the robot Rose, Alainn knows taking the money is a mistake.

Rose acts like a human. She looks exactly like Alainn. But, something in her comes out wrong.

To save her father from a five year prison sentence, Alainn takes Rose’s place. She says goodbye to the sun and goes to live in a tower no human is allowed to enter. She becomes the prisoner of a man no human is allowed to see.

Believing that a life of servitude lies ahead, Alainn finds a very different fate awaits her in the company of the strange, scarred recluse.

While waiting for Rita Stradling to complete her Dakota Kekoa trilogy I thought I’d pick this book up to hold me over. It sounded interesting…a sci-fi retelling of Beauty and the Beast? Yes please! While it was creative and unlike anything I’ve read before, it still didn’t live up to how much I’ve love her other books. I know, I know. I shouldn’t be comparing apples and oranges but I can’t help, OK?

This story closely follows the overall message of Beauty and the Beast but takes place in a futuristic society. It’s centered around Alainn, who is sent to the home of a recluse named Lorccan. The catch? She has to pose as one of her father’s robots, the Rose 76GF. You see, her father, while completely brilliant, is a gambler and cheater who has gotten both of them into trouble. The whole question is what will Lorccan do when he realizes that she isn’t actually a robot, but a living breathing human?

I was entertained while reading this book and read through it quite quickly. However, it didn’t really flow, parts were uneven and there were a lot of parts that either didn’t add up or caused confusion. The insertion of random minor characters was completely unnecessary. That said, I did really like the two main characters. They were deeply flawed but funny and interesting. The setting made it really standout! I have no clue how Stradling came up with it but if it wasn’t advertised as a Beauty and the Beast retelling I could have easily read it as completely original in every sense of the word.

Overall, Ensnared is a book that I’m glad that I had a chance to read. It demonstrates the amazing amounts of creativity Stradling possesses, she truly had a talent with taking things and turning them on their heads. However, it felt a bit rushed and uneven. A few more edits or clarifications here and there would definitely improve its readability.


I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

30971762Sparks of Light by Janet B. Taylor
Release date: August 1st, 2017
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Genre: Young adult, historical fiction, fantasy
Format: eBook

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 2.02.59 PM copy 2 copia

Goodreads | Amazon

For the first time in her life, Hope Walton has friends . . . and a (maybe) boyfriend. She’s a Viator, a member of a long line of time-traveling ancestors. When the Viators learn of a plan to steal a dangerous device from the inventor Nikola Tesla, only a race into the past can save the natural timeline from utter destruction. Navigating the glitterati of The Gilded Age in 1895 New York City, Hope and her crew will discover that high society can be as deadly as it is beautiful.

The first book, Into the Dim, was really pushed as being a YA Outlander but oh boy was it not! Yes, there was time travel and some of it did take place in the Scottish Highlands, but that’s where the similarities end. I thought that the first book was alright, middle of the road. An interesting read that I neither overly liked or disliked. However, this time around with Sparks of Light I quite firmly have an opinion and it’s a very negative one.

This sequel was a huge disappointment. Yup, nothing about it captured the moments of excitement seen in the first book. It just falls flat, bogged down by old memories and a lack of transitions. It read as disjointed and unsure of itself. I was honestly never really sure if what was being described was something from the past or the current action. The constant struggle to figure it out in addition to the sluggish plot just turned me off completely. I read it through and stuck with it, but it was certainly a struggle!

The main character also got on my nerves. She was tolerable in the first book. I actually began to like her near the end but here all of the things I disliked take centre stage. My biggest issue? It’s how she views other girls. In the first book she kept on putting down women who dress a certain way or are large chested. To her they were all promiscuous. It continues in this book as well to the point where it made her sound jealous, hateful and petty. I hate books where girls slam other girls for how they dress and equate it with their intelligence or sexuality. Who cares how you dress? So, you date a lot of guys, so what? STOP JUDGING!

Will I read the third book? Nope! After this disaster I have no inclination to do so. There are so many other time traveling books to keep my occupied. I highly suggest the Ruby Red series by Kerstin Gier. Then there’s Passenger by Alexandra Bracken that’s been sitting on my shelf for ages. Any other YA time travel books to suggest?

Leave a Reply

