The Mid Year Book Freakout Tag

Book Blitz_-2

Thanks to Azia at The Uncharted World for tagging me! ❤ I can’t believe it’s already the middle of the year. It honestly feels like 2017 just started. I haven’t read as many books as I did last year. But I do feel quite happy with the ones that I have managed to read. Here’s a look at my year so far…


Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017

 

I can’t pick just one so these are my five favorite books that I’ve read so far this year. These were all easily 5 star reads! ❤

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017

 

These were perfect in every way! They made me laugh, cry and swoon. Plus, as much as I love their predecessor, I found these to be even better. They offered more character development, answered long burning questions and kept me guessing the whole time.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet but Want To

 

This list could go on and on. I’ve been struggling to read this year and my TBR from the past 6 months alone is gigantic. Soon…hopefully soon! *sighs*

Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

 

AHHHH….too many books! This year is just full of so many must have releases. I’m poor! I can’t buy any more books! *runs and hides*

Biggest Disappointment

 

The Valiant had such an amazing premise but it just went nowhere. I expected a lot more kickass female gladiator fights but ended up getting an annoying MC and a contrived romance. Yuck! The Traveler didn’t feature enough time traveling pirates. I feel like I was lied to. And Traitor to the Throne was long, very long. It took everything I loved about the first book and either eliminated it or relegated it to insignificance.

Biggest Surprise

 

The Fill-In Boyfriend was my first Kasie West book and I can’t wait to pick up more from her. It was so fun and swoon worthy. Cold Summer was absolutely stunning! WWII, time travel and its consequences. A MUST READ! The Beast is an Animal was dark and creepy…it had me running to Pinterest to make an aesthetic board as soon as I finished it.

Favorite New Author

 

I can’t wait for Gwen Cole’s next release. It probably won’t be for a while since her debut was just released but I just know it will be amazing! Nnedi Okorafor’s Binti series is stunning. I’m amazed at how she can transmit so many things in stories that are around 100 pages long. Her worlds are also so unique. I fell in love with Dan Jones’ historical documentaries earlier this year. So, I hoped that his writing would reignite my love for books based on history. And it did…he just has this special way of pulling in the reader. He’s exciting, engaging and totally badass!

Favorite New Crush

26061581

I enjoyed Lord Carlston is the first book but this sequel confirmed my undying love for this mysterious man. There’s just something about Regency-era men that makes my heart  melt.

Favorite New Characters

29904219

How can you not love the characters in this book? I can’t wait to learn more about them and the very cool Bells in the sequel that’s released later this year.

Books That Made You Cry

26864835

I knew I would get emotional with this book but I didn’t expect to cry so hard. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster. My heart was ripped out, stomped on and it still hasn’t fully recovered.

A Book That Made You Happy

 

I had such a huge smile on my face while reading these. The banter, the romance…the everything!

Most Beautiful Books You’ve Bought So Far This Year

 

These covers are just so beautiful! ❤

What Books Do You Need to Read Before the End of the Year?

 

I’ve been saying that I’m going to read these books for ages…at least since I started this blog last year. Enough is enough! I am going to read them before the year ends!


My Tags:

7 thoughts on “The Mid Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Fantastic post, Jacquie! I really liked Dark Days Club but haven’t gotten around to reading the sequel just yet. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed that one as well! So that’s another book to look forward to! I saw Cold Summer and Note Worthy in my library a few days ago, but knew nothing of them! I’ll have to pick them up now! The Pearl Thief sounded really interesting, too, so I may have to look into that one further 🙂 I hope you enjoy Anna and the French Kiss! I thought it was absolutely adorable. I, too, have to read P.S. I Like You and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. They sound like fantastically cute reads. And uh oh. I bought The Valiant on a whim but have heard so many mixed reviews. I’m afraid to crack it open now LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cold Summer was fantastic! I easily gave it 5 hearts in a review. I love WWII and time travel, it reminded me of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Band of Brothers all rolled into one. I just finished Anna and the French Kiss!! I can’t believe I basically read it in one afternoon and it was just so darn cute! *sigh* St Clair!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • WWII and time travel are fantastic concepts! I love watching and reading those kinds of stories 😀 St. Clair was adorable! The angst was a bit melodramatic but it all worked out in the end. I loved that book to pieces. So glad you did too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

