Waiting on Wednesday

mini-reviews-3
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

30635597This week I’m looking forward to Ahimsa by Supriya Kelkar. Besides having a beautiful cover, this middle grade book has attracted my attention due to the fact that it is about such an important historical topic. I’m loving how so many middle grade books are now tackling topics about prejudice, freedom, oppression, etc. We need more and more diverse books written by diverse authors. I can’t wait to pick this up in October!

untitled
In 1942, when Mahatma Gandhi asks Indians to give one family member to the freedom movement, ten-year-old Anjali is devastated to think of her father risking his life for the freedom struggle.

But it turns out he isn’t the one joining. Anjali’s mother is. And with this change comes many more adjustments designed to improve their country and use “ahimsa”—non-violent resistance—to stand up to the British government. First the family must trade in their fine foreign-made clothes for homespun cotton, so Anjali has to give up her prettiest belongings. Then her mother decides to reach out to the Dalit community, the “untouchables” of society. Anjali is forced to get over her past prejudices as her family becomes increasingly involved in the movement.

When Anjali’s mother is jailed, Anjali must step out of her comfort zone to take over her mother’s work, ensuring that her little part of the independence movement is completed.

9 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday

  1. I’m so impressed & glad to see this book in middle grade, immediately added to my TBR. Besides the obvious stunning cover, all of the topics tackled are of major relevance & it’s an Own voices book, sign me right up! thank you for spotlighting Ahimsa this week for WOW 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m happy to hear that you added it to your TBR! My goal this year is to read and spotlight more diverse and own voices books. Middle grade is really rocking diverse books that deal with important topics. I really wish more YA books would do it as well.

      Like

  2. This book is definitely being added to my TBR list. Thanks for introducing me to it.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

