Mini Reviews: It Started with Goodbye & Complicating Factors

mini-reviews-2

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

27830287It Started with Goodbye by Christina June
Release date: May 9th, 2017
Publisher: Blink/HarperCollins
Genre: Young adult, contemporary
Format: eBook

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 2.02.59 PM copy 5

Goodreads | Amazon

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client). When Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way.

This book was such a wonderful surprise! I was expecting a cute romanic story but it was so much more than that. Actually, the romance wasn’t the main focus at all, family and inner strength were. I think that’s what made me fall in love with it! Plus, it’s a modern version of Cinderella, a fairytale I absolutely love.

The book is about a girl (Tatum) who is falsely accused of committing a crime. This sends her life in a direction she wasn’t prepared for and strains her relationship with her family who claim that they can’t trust her anymore. So, when not completing her community service, she works on her covert graphic design business which she uses to raise money to pay off her fine.

I loved Tatum! She’s what I love seeing in female characters. Tatum’s strong, independent and willing to work hard. My heart went out to her from the very first chapter. She’s blamed for committing a crime her best friend was participated in! How she dealt with it was both realistic, honest, funny and at times heartbreaking. I particularly enjoyed how the incident changed her relationships with those around her. Like in Cinderella, she wasn’t close with her step-mother or step-sister. But how things developed added a nice twist to the traditional story and one that I smiled a lot at while reading.

I cannot recommend this enough! If you have enjoyed books by Kasie West or Jennifer E. Smith then this story is definitely for you!


I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.33360347

Complicating Factors by Max Gladstone 
Release date: February 15th, 2017
Publisher: Serial Box Publishing
Genre: Fiction, fantasy
Format: eBook

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 2.02.59 PM copy 5

Goodreads | Amazon

New assignments send the players down fresh paths as Josh looks for Prague’s organized crime scene while Tanya and Gabe seek out the new Flame bigwig. At Bar Vodnář, Jordan has a curious encounter.

Welcome to Prague, 1970: the epicenter in a Cold War of spies and sorcerers. The streets are a deadly chessboard on which the CIA and KGB make their moves, little dreaming that a deeper game is being played between the Consortium of Ice and the Acolytes of Flame, ancient factions of sorcery.

I have been a huge fan of this series since I stumbled upon it last year. And for good reason, it just keeps on getting better and better! Complicating Factors is the second story in the the “second season” of the The Witch Who Came in from the Cold series. It’s set in Prague during the Cold War but is focused on a secret battle between two magical factions called the Consortium of Ice and the Acolytes of Flame. Yes, it sounds a bit odd but it all works so perfectly together. History, magic, spy games…it’s all so, so good!

I can’t really say too much about the story because I would spoil everything! It’s so terribly hard to review stories that are in a series, especially one like Complicating Factors. What I will say is that the it’s non-stop action, full of intrigue and plot developments that have me wanting to read more and more. The three chapters featured in this short story just weren’t enough. Luckily for I have the next story already open on my Kindle waiting for me to devour it.

So, if you haven’t read this series yet, DO IT! Go, go, go! You won’t regret it. I promise! (Psst…it’s $1.94 on Amazon!)

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: It Started with Goodbye & Complicating Factors

  1. I enjoyed It Started with Goodbye, as well!

    And I’ve been looking at Complicating Factors. I didn’t even realise it was part of a series, oops! I might have to check out the first one if I am going to give this one a shot!

    Like

  2. Pingback: May Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

