Mini Reviews: Letters to the Lost & Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately

mini-reviews-2

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

30038855Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer
Release date: April 4th, 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance
Format: eBook

screen-shot-2017-02-19-at-2-02-59-pm-copy-2

Goodreads | Amazon

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he’s trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he’s opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they’re not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.

I really liked the idea behind this book but the execution left a lot to be desired. Or perhaps I just went into it expecting more? My book slump didn’t help the matter. I read it because I needed to write a review for it. My NetGalley queue has been stressing me out. Whatever the reason, Letters to the Lost ended up being an alright book, but it wasn’t the standout I was hoping it would be.

A lot of my high hopes for it came from Goodreads. The dozens of 4 or 5 star reviews really excited me. But really it wasn’t very original or different from other books I’ve read before. It was actually quite predicable from the beginning…the main characters would figure out their real identities, fall in love and blah blah blah. The character themselves were not that likeable. They were more cliche than anything! I just didn’t care what happened to them. And I’ve said this a million times before, a book without characters I can connect to just doesn’t work for me. I NEED A CONNECTION!!! What saved the book for me was the writing style. I really enjoyed the way things were worded and flowed but without an interesting plot I really felt like the author’s talent was wasted.

Of course, this is just my opinion. It’s an opinion influenced by my struggles to get “into” a book and stay interested. At the time I requested it the story sounded perfect but I think at this time it really wasn’t. Sometimes that’s just how it is. *shrugs*


I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

34078564Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook
Release date: April 11th, 2017
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Genre: Poetry
Format: eBook

screen-shot-2017-02-19-at-2-02-59-pm-copy

Goodreads | Amazon

A poet, journalist, and activist, Alicia Cook offers a soundtrack of survival.

Structured like an old-school mix-tape, Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately is Alicia Cook’s lyric message to anyone who has dealt with addiction. “Side A” touches on all aspects of the human condition: life, death, love, trauma, and growth. “Side B” contains haunting black-out remixes of those poems.

Oh, this is a must read book of poetry! It was completely unique and spoke directly to many of my own thoughts and feelings. It was unlike any poetry book I’ve read before with the author’s original poems paired with songs and then “remixed” as blackout poems.

The collection touches on a variety of topics: grief, loss, identity, and love. There’s definitely something for everyone and even not, the author’s words just hold so much power that you can’t help but feel moved. I honestly felt like some poems were written just for me and that’s why I loved this book so much! It cracked my heart open and made it bleed with emotion. Beautiful, beautiful stuff!

I now want to purchase a physical copy of this book because there’s nothing better than being able to hold it to your heart. Plus, the blackout poetry was difficult to read at times. I enjoyed it even though I had to squint and zoom in, but I think my experience would have been better if that wasn’t the case. Then again, this was a PDF review copy so I can’t complain.

I can’t recommend this gorgeous collection enough! Poetry lover or not, this is a book that people from all walks of life would enjoy. I know for sure it’s one that I’ll come back to again and again.

10 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Letters to the Lost & Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up – Bridget & Books

  2. Pingback: May Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

