Mystery Blogger Award

Mini Reviews-2Thanks to Athena at Priceless Books for nominating me! Please stop by her blog and show her some much deserved love. ❤ I think I’ve done this tag before but since there are new questions each time I’m more than happy to do it again!


The Rules:

  • List the rules
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself
  • You nominate 10 – 20 people
  • Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question

Three Facts About Me:

1. My middle name is Courtney and I really, like really dislike it. Don’t mention it to me…EVER! 😛

2. I love watching hockey but don’t skate because I had an accident in PE class in elementary school that scared the life out of me.

3. I’ve dyed my hair tons of colours but I’d love to go the lilac route just to see what it would look like. But I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be allowed to go to work if I dyed my hair an “unnatural” colour.


Athena’s Questions:

1. What is one book you have read that you think is underrated? Why do you think it’s underrated?

Ryan Graudin is a brilliant writer and I adored the Wolf by Wolf series, but her 2014 novel The Walled City is even better. I don’t think many people know about it. It deserves a lot more love for sure!

2. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring three books what would you bring?

Hmmmm…Persuasion by Jane Austen (my heart ❤), Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (the Dregs are just the greatest group of people ever) and Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco (because the banter between the two main character will keep me amused).

3. Which would you prefer: coffee, tea, or neither? Why? 

I’m all about the caffeine! I drink tons and tons of coffee, but also enjoy tea. It really depends on the situation and time of day. Coffee is usually for the morning and tea when I come home from work in the evening.

4. Do you keep the artist separate from the art? Or do you think they should go together? What I mean is, say an artist creates something that you absolutely love, but you find out they are a terrible person, would you still enjoy their art or would you boycott it?

I have a hard time separating the artist from their work. The work is kind of an extension of themselves, even if it’s a fictional book based in a fantasy world. Also, why would I want to support someone who is terrible? Twitter has really opened my eyes to a lot of authors who write books for young people but then attack them for their sexual orientation, race, beliefs, etc. I can’t support that! It goes against everything I believe in and besides, do we really want this person writing more books? Hell no!!!!

5. The weird question: If you had to do cartwheels or somersaults for the rest of your life which one would you choose?

I’m better at doing cartwheels so I’m going with that one!


My Questions:

1. What is your favourite book cover? Why is it your favourite?

2. If you could have two book characters (from different books) fall in love, who would you choose? Why?

3. Are books over 500 pages a turn off? Why or why not?

4. If you could pick one author to write a YA book based on your life who would you pick? Why?

5. What mythical creature should authors stop writing about? Why?


Tags:

25 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations on your award, Jacquie! 😀 And great answers, especially the three books questions. I absolutely adore Persuasion. It’s my second favorite Austen book, after P&P. Six of Crows is always a fantastic choice and Stalking Jack the Ripper is a fantastic read 😉

    Like

  2. I don’t get why you aren’t allowed to dye your hair an unnatural color. I work at a retirement home and I can understand why they may not want my coworkers or myself to dye our hair like that, but at the same time we aren’t doing anything wrong.

    Like

    • I work at a school where were can only wear solid colours….no patterns whatsoever. So….they are pretty conservative with the dress code but not with anything else. I don’t even know. They say it’s because of the need to look professional and not distract the students????

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination! I just did this one not too long ago so I will answer your questions here:
    1 – my favourite cover is probably Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I love the colours, the bottle, the ship, the font – basically everything!
    2 – oh this is a hard one!! Maybe Celeana from Throne of Glass and Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows – they could be utterly deadly together!!!
    3 – I like big books and I cannot lie! 😂 the size is somewhat intimidating but I love me a lengthy story
    4 – yet another hard one!! Hmmm maybe Nicola Yoon. She’s a great contemporary YA author and I think she would do my (boring yet chaotic) life proud!
    5 – awe do I have to pick one?? I love mythical creatures. Maybe fairies? There’s so many books about fairies. I need more dragons though!! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG Celeana (in the first two TOG books) and Kaz would be so badass together!!! And I still really, really need to read Passenger. I have it on my shelf and have no excuse for not picking it up. I also want more dragon books. Dragons are so cool! Thanks for answering. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much for the tag Jacquie, and great questions as well. I can’t wait to get around to answering them.
    Also great answers for your questions! 😀 I have read The Walled City by Ryan Graudin, and though it was a good book I do prefer her Wolf by Wolf duology. Also I can’t do cartwheels or somersaults, but I’d love to be able to do one, cartwheels especially because it’s embarrassing when my seven and ten year old cousins are cartwheeling all around the place and I can’t manage it once!
    Again thanks for the tag! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome for the tag! 🙂 Ryan Graudin is simply amazing. I can’t wait for her new book to come out. Her work is always just so creative and heartbreaking. I’m actually reading Wolf by Wolf with my 9th grade English class and they kids love it! Spreading the Graudin love 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on the award 🙂 I can’t really separate the artist from the art either. If I hear of someone just being awful, I will generally steer away from their art. I have seen authors on twitter who are homophobic, racist etc. and I can’t help but feel that even if they don’t outright put that in their books, there is still going to be an undertone. Great answers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well done on the award! This was so fun to read! I love coffee and tea too, I probably drink tea more just because we have so much of it in the house. I would totally take Six of Crows to a desert island too, so I’m with you on that one! (Also, I think your middle name is lovely, just a heads up!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

