Waiting on Wednesday

mini-reviews-3
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

33540347This week I’m looking forward to Monstress, Volume 2 by Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda. I loved everything about the first volume. It’s dark, gritty, mysterious and action packed. Plus, the artwork is beyond stunning! The cover doesn’t even do it justice. I can’t recommend Volume 1 enough. It was so good that I’ve had Volume 2 preordered since January! The wait has been torturous! The graphic novel will be released on June 6th by Image Comics.

untitled
The Eisner-nominated MONSTRESS is back! Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900’s Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, MONSTRESS tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power. In Volume 2, Maika, Kippa, and Ren journey to Thyria in search of answers to the past… and discover a new, terrible, threat.

7 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday

  1. I’m a massive fan of Image comics. They seem to have no shortage of gorgeously illustrated, gripping stories by an impressive variety of writers and artists. I’ve seen volume 1 of Monstress around, but I didn’t know volume 2 was coming out so soon! I’ll be working at my local comic shop for Free Comic Book Day this weekend and absolutely plan on snagging this first volume with the book discount they’ve got for volunteers. Awesome pick for today! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t heard of the Monsress comics and I’m pretty unfamiliar with the medium, but it sounds really interesting! Who doesn’t love steampunk and monsters? I may have to pick this one up one day. Nice pick, Jacquie! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

