Review | King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

mini-reviews-2

30226723King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard
Release date: February 7th, 2017
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: Hardcover

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 2.02.59 PM copy 4

Goodreads | Amazon

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

555335 copy

The beginning of the book was slow. I had a hard time going through the pages, to be honest. Mare’s imprisonment is the main focus for most of the first half of the book, if not more. The Scarlet Guard built an army of newbloods with the help of  Prince Calore and surprisingly, some of the “evil” characters change and perhaps reconsider their original position regarding the lightning girl and her crew.

Evangeline, was a surprise for me, I didn’t see that shift coming!

I think the first part of the book was a bit boring I took around a month to finish it because I did not feel that engaged as with the last 2. I hope the 4th one is much better. I feel a little disappointed  because I expected this book so, so much. Now, I do not have much to say.

img_0988

6 thoughts on “Review | King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I loved Red Queen, and I didn’t like Glass Sword so I’m really torn about whether I would enjoy this book or whether I should give up on the series. I didn’t like Mare in Glass Sword, did she get better in this book?

    Like

  2. I keep hearing the same things about this book, and I have to agree with what you’re saying! I loved Evangeline’s point of view, I think that was the best part of the whole book; I loved her character, the only interesting one! The rest of the book was a complete and utter flop; how disappointing!
    I hope along with you that the last book is better than this one!

    Like

  3. I loved Red Queen, but I haven’t got around to reading Glass Sword nor King’s Cage. My feelings for the book have turned REALLY lukewarm!
    But I’m interested to see that Evangeline has a perspective? That sounds really interesting! Maybe I’ll give the series another go, then. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

