Blog Tour | Traveler by L.E. DeLano

travelertourbannerI received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

27242803Traveler by L.E. DeLano
Release date: February 7th, 2017
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

555335 copy 3

Goodreads | Amazon

Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all steampunk pirates and fantasy lifestyles…Jessa is dying over and over again, in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it… this Jessa is going to live.

rew

Traveler is about a Jessa St.Clair, a teenager with a vivid imagination who has a natural talent for writing. She’s constantly scribbling down story ideas based on her dreams. One day her rather ordinary life is turned completely upside down when one of her characters, a boy from her dreams, approaches her in real life. He tells Jessa that she’s a traveler, a person who can travel between dimensions and worlds. The catch? She’s in grave danger. Someone is trying to murder her in every dimension and they both need to work together to find out why.

titles copy 2

  • The pacing was was very slow at the beginning. I didn’t initially connect with the story or the characters at all. To be completely honest, I would have given up if I didn’t have to write a review for this blog tour. I’m very glad that I didn’t because about a quarter of the way into the story things start to pick up and it’s pretty fast paced from there on.
  • I really enjoyed the characters. Jessa was the type of character that I could see myself being friends with in real life. She’s tough, caring and made tons of comic book references that made my little nerd heart happy. Jessa’s older brother Danny has autism but it doesn’t define who he is. There were tons of hints that he was the only character to actual know Jessa was traveling between dimensions, he just couldn’t properly articulate it. I think he’s going to play a much larger role in the sequel. How? I’m not really sure but there’s something definitely there. And I can’t talk about the character without mentioning Finn. Oh, Finn *sigh* I loved him to pieces.
  • The book doesn’t give anything away and I really enjoyed that about it. I had no inkling about who was targeting Jessa until the last few chapters. It kept me guessing and that’s what really kept me going through the slow parts of the story. I hate it when books reveal everything to the reader too soon.
  • The ending was so, so good! It was shocking but in a good way. I’m now completely hooked and want the sequel in my hands right away. My mind was racing trying to figure where the author will take the characters next but every scenario I come up with leaves me with just too many questions.
  • I loved how the author included a recipe for glitter mousse at the end of the story. What is glitter mousse you ask? You just need to read the book to find out. 🙂

titles

  • It’s advertised as being about steampunk pirates and yeah, a charming pirate appears but not nearly enough. I kind of feel ripped off in a way. Like I signed up for something and only got half of what I was promised.
  • There is a love triangle and I HATE LOVE TRIANGLES so yeah…NO!
  • There was one scene in particular that rubbed me the wrong way. In it Jessa judges another girl based on her tight clothes and heavy makeup. I hate it when books have their female characters judge each other. It’s hurtful and damaging. It’s basically saying if you dress like this then you are this type of person. NO! This scene also stood out because it didn’t fit Jessa’s characterization.

So, while Traveler wasn’t exactly what I was hoping it to be, I did quite like it by the end. I think it’s one of the book series where each book is better than the last. The author has setup a solid foundation and left me wanting more. The sequel, Dreamer, is scheduled to be released next year.


about

headshotL.E. DeLano is a YA novelist rep’d by Barry Goldblatt Literary, author of the upcoming Traveler (Swoon Reads/MacMillan 2017) and lifelong writer.

Probably best known under her alternate moniker, Ellie DeLano, she has blogged for both Woman’s Day and Mom’s Magazine, and runs her own blog on parenting and autism at SingleMomtism.com.

She lives in Pennsylvania with two very adventurous kids and two very ridiculous cats. In her spare time, she writes (of course) and binge-watches way too much Netflix.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Traveler by L.E. DeLano

  1. Pingback: Reading Challenge Updates: Part II |

Leave a Reply

