Blog Tour: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde (Guest Post)

queensofgeektourbanner

31696213Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
Release date: March 14th, 2017
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Genre: Young adult, contemporary
Format: eBook, paperback

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Three friends. Two love stories. One convention.

Charlie likes to stand out. She’s a vlogger and actress promoting her first movie at SupaCon, and this is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star Reese Ryan. When internet-famous cool-girl actress Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with her best guy friend Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about a fan contest for her favorite fandom, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.


Guest Post: Most Memorable Convention Moment

The line started deep inside a building the size of an aircraft carrier, snaked outside and down to the entry gates to the park where the convention was being held. I stood in the middle of it with my brothers in the hot Australian sun for hours, refusing to take my jacket off because I had waited months to show off my perfect Marty McFly, Back to the Future II cosplay. By the time we leveled up and made it inside the building, I was exhausted. But still I stood, waiting patiently for my moment – a moment I had dreamed of since I was a kid. We chatted excitedly with other fans in line, complimenting each other’s cosplay and asking where a lucky few got their hoverboards from. The closer I got to the booth, the more nervous I became. What do I say when I meet him? Do I shake his hand? How should I pose? People ahead of us disappeared behind the wall and emerged on the other side thirty seconds later, smiling like they had just witnessed greatness. Because they had. And then it was our turn. It all happened so quickly, like a blur or a dream. I adjusted my jacket and cap, making sure my cosplay was on point. I walked into the booth, and there he was. Christopher Lloyd, or as I had known him growing up; Doc Brown, wide-eyed scientist and inventor of time travel. I saw him and my mind went blank. Somehow, I reached a hand out and said, “It’s so nice to meet you.” He smiled, shook my hand, and said, “Well, it’s nice to meet you too.” I took my place next to him while he greeted my brother, and then suddenly we were smiling for the camera. And just like that, it was over. It was only a few seconds, but for a Back to the Future fangirl like me, it was something I’ll remember forever.


 The Author

Jen_Jen Wilde is a writer, geek and fangirl with a penchant for coffee, books and pugs. She writes YA stories about zombies (AS THEY RISE), witches (ECHO OF THE WITCH) and fangirls (QUEENS OF GEEK). Her debut series reached over three million reads online and became an Amazon bestseller.

When she’s not writing, Jen loves binge-watching her favorite shows on Netflix, eating pizza, traveling to far away places and going to conventions in Marty McFly cosplay.

Jen lives in a sunny beachside town in Australia with her husband and their cheeky pug, aptly named Heisenberg.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook


Giveaway

Click here to enter the Canada/US only giveaway to win:

  • A print copy of Queens of Geek
10 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde (Guest Post)

Leave a Reply

