The Totally Should Have Book Tag

mini-reviews

Thank you to the lovely Azia at The Uncharted World for tagging me. Please take the time to check out her blog, you won’t regret it ❤ I’m horrible at keeping up with tags. I see them, plan on doing them and then forget. Ugh! But I’m really happy this one was brought to my attention. It was tons of fun to answer.


Totally should’ve gotten a sequel

This is really hard! I can’t think of a standalone that needed a sequel. If I liked the book it was probably because it was complete and well imagined. If I didn’t like it well…then why would I want to read the sequel?

Totally should’ve gotten a spin-off series

23437156  22299763

I would totally love to have a story featuring Inej as a kickass crime fighter. Or just based on any character form the Six of Crows series. Even better, can’t we just have more stories with everyone in them? A girl can always dream *sigh*

An author that totally should write more books

I loved Cassandra Rose Clarke’s Assassin’s Curse duology and as well as The Wizard’s Promise but she hasn’t released a book in a long time. I love her worlds and fascinating characters. There is hope though as she does have a few books scheduled for release this year. If you haven’t read The Assassin’s Curse then you are seriously missing out!

A character that totally should’ve ended up with someone else

10194157  14061955  14061957

Alina totally deserved a better love interest! Mal was boring and an all around blah type of character. I would have loved to see her end up with Nikolai. He was all lighthearted and fun to her doom and gloom. Their interactions were some of my favourite in the books.

Totally should’ve ended differently

32946000

I loved this book but would have liked a different ending for the main character. I don’t want to spoil anything but she deserved better! My poor ship! But…if it ended differently then there would’t have been a sequel.

Totally should’ve had a movie franchise

24804505  26091228

Action, romance, political intrigue…these books seriously have it all! I would totally be first in line to see them on the big screen. 🙂

Totally should’ve had only one point of view

27774758

Maybe if the story would have only been told from Elias’ perspective I would have liked it a lot more. I couldn’t stand Laia at all. She was whinny and made so many stupid decisions…like WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU?!?! Ugh! 😦

Totally should’ve had a cover change

30119375

This book, along with a dozen other medieval-fantasy and historical fiction stories, have used this cover model/image on their covers. ENOUGH ALREADY!

Totally should’ve kept the original covers

24934065  31574408

The new North American covers are alright but these are just so much better. The cover for Rebel of the Sands was one of my favourite from last year. I love how it shimmers in the light. Why do publishers insist on changing covers midway through a series? I’ll never understand it.

Totally should’ve stopped at book one

8306857

I really enjoyed Divergent but hated the other two books in the series. BIG, MASSIVE DISAPPOINTMENTS! I’m still not over how much I hated Allegiant.


Tags:

 

26 thoughts on “The Totally Should Have Book Tag

  1. Haha I love it 😂😂😂
    I completely agree with you on the Divergent one. The last two were just awful. Definitely should have been a standalone!

    I agree with the Rebel of the Sands cover change as well! The graphics ones were so much better than the new ones! Luckily, I’ve got the old covers for both!

    Great post!

    xoxo
    Kirsty

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SO AGREE with Divergent. Oh my goodness. I didn’t love Divergent either because I had way too many people tell me how superior it was to Hunger Games, so that was a huge let down. But the sequels were just completely not thought out. Ah well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. haha I couldn’t agree more with should have had one perspective! An Ember in the Ashes, I don’t know what it was about that book, but I just couldn’t get myself into it and the shifting of perspectives always felt jarring and I got confused. But tell me how I really enjoyed the second book, like how does that work out? Did you read the second book?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much for the tag Jacquie, and great picks for this one as well.
    I would love to see a spin-off for the Six of Crows duology. I actually think that’s where Leigh Bardugo is going to go because Nina’s story felt like it was left open-ended for that exact reason. I can hope we see the rest of the Crows at some point as well.
    Also yes the Rebel of the Sands series would look so much better if they kept the original covers. I think in the UK we do still have the original covers which is kind of nice but I really don’t like it when cover change halfway through a series. I have more than a few books that have done that recently and it always bugs me.
    Thanks again for the tag! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re very welcome! 🙂 And I hope so! Then again, I’ve been waiting for a Nikolai story for a long while now. I totally understand her need to write other things, expand and move on but there is still so much to tell!! As for cover changes…I just purchased the sequel to The Dark Days Club and the covers don’t match and I’m going back and forth between how I feel about them. Gah! I can’t wait to see your answers ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hopefully soon. I almost feel like now we’ve gone away from the Grisha for a duology we’ll go back again, and maybe that will mean Nikolai! 😀
        Yeah it always sucks. Most times I just cave and buy the earlier books in the new covers as well. Everything need to match on my bookshelves! 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

