Mini Reviews | Shadow Run & Island of Exiles

mini-reviews-2

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

25669098Shadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland & Michael Miller
Release date: March 21st, 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genre: Young adult, science fiction
Format: eBook

Hearts.001

Goodreads | Amazon

Nev has just joined the crew of the starship Kaitan Heritage as the cargo loader. His captain, Qole, is the youngest-ever person to command her own ship, but she brooks no argument from her crew of orphans, fugitives, and con men. Nev can’t resist her, even if her ship is an antique.

As for Nev, he’s a prince, in hiding on the ship. He believes Qole holds the key to changing galactic civilization, and when her cooperation proves difficult to obtain, Nev resolves to get her to his home planet by any means necessary.

But before they know it, a rival royal family is after Qole too, and they’re more interested in stealing her abilities than in keeping her alive.

Nev’s mission to manipulate Qole becomes one to save her, and to survive, she’ll have to trust her would-be kidnapper. He may be royalty, but Qole is discovering a deep reservoir of power—and stars have mercy on whoever tries to hurt her ship or her crew.

pazzcud

I can’t stop raving about how good this book was! It’s described as being “Dune meets Firefly” which both worried and intrigued me. How can you successfully combine these two? It seemed impossible. If you’ve ever watched either of these TV shows/movies (and you really should) they are pretty darn amazing. Opening a book description with that comparison is setting the bar pretty high. I went in all excited and was completely blown away by just how good Shadow Run was!

Here are some of the reasons why I loved this book:

  • Lots of twists and turns
  • A kickass female captain (don’t mess with her, no seriously)
  • Magical shadow powers
  • A space prince
  • High stakes, fast plot, no dull moments
  • Loveable characters
  • Witty banter and lots of sass
  • Top notch action scenes
  • Schemes, plans and entertaining nonsense
  • Spaceships
  • Awesome character names
  • Basra is the best of the best (you need to read the book to understand)

I honestly could go on and on. You just need to take my word for it. YOU NEED THIS BOOK IN YOUR LIFE! Go pre-order it. Buy it when it’s released. Request it at your local library. Just be sure to read it. While I’m so happy that I received an advance copy of Shadow Run I now have to wait patiently for the sequel. The wait is going to be excruciatingly painful. I need to know what happens next!

giphy

Throwing in some Jayne gifs because why the hell not? 😛


I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

29560003Island of Exiles by Erica Cameron
Release date: February 14th, 2017
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook

Goodreads | Amazon

In Khya’s world, every breath is a battle.

On the isolated desert island of Shiara, dying young is inevitable. The clan comes before self, and protecting her home means Khya is a warrior above all else.

But when following the clan and obeying their leaders could cost her brother his life, Khya’s home becomes a deadly trap. The only person who can help is Tessen, her lifelong rival and the boy who challenges her at every turn. The council she hoped to join has betrayed her, and their secrets, hundreds of years deep, reach around a world she’s never seen.

To save her brother’s life and her island home, her only choice is to trust Tessen, turn against her clan, and go on the run—a betrayal and a death sentence.

My first DNF of the year and it broke my tiny heart. *sobs* I really, really wanted to like Island of Exiles. It has so much going for it: diverse characters, a mysterious setting, gorgeous cover, it featured a third gender that I would love to know more about…but I just couldn’t connect with it. I read up to 30% and then set it down. I was bored and very confused.

Here were some of my issues:

  • The chapters were incredibly long! The first chapter was honestly 5% of the entire book. They just went on forever and ever with too much information jammed into each one.
  • The long chapters just made it feel like the story was moving so slowly. The 30% of the story that I did read took a lot longer than it should have. I normally can read that in one sitting but found myself reading only that amount over a 3 day period.
  • The beginning of the book is a combination between a huge info dump and tons of new terms being thrown at you without any context. There’s a complex magic system, warrior ranks, honorific titles…just so much to remember! I did a lot of flipping back and forth, which is super annoying on a Kindle, to remind myself what a particular word meant or was referring to.
  • The whole society is divided into essential roles and each person is assigned that role at a certain age wasn’t new at all. It’s a storyline I’ve read countless times and I’m so bored with it. It’s always the same: girl does well but must challenge system to save a loved one blah blah blah. It didn’t catch my attention and in turn I couldn’t become invested in the characters or their struggle.

Of course, this is just my opinion. If you look on Goodreads there are tons of reviewers that loved this book. It just sadly ended up not being for me.

5 thoughts on “Mini Reviews | Shadow Run & Island of Exiles

  1. Shadow Run was already on my TBR so I’m REALLY excited you liked it! I have to say one of the big parts about it that interested me was that it was compared to Firefly (the best TV show ever, haha) and wondered if it actually lives up to that. So I’m just really happy you not only enjoyed it but found it comparable to Firefly! Also I love all of the Jayne gifs, he’s my favorite character! 🙂
    Sorry to hear you DNF’d Island of Exiles, I hadn’t heard of it until reading your post and it looks and sounds interesting so that’s a bummer. DNFing is never fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jayne is awesome! I was adding the gifs and kept on singing that song about Jayne’s heroics from the Jaynestown episode. Which also shows just how many times I’ve watched the show haha But totally one of the best ever. I WANT MORE EPISODES!!!

      Island of Exiles is one of those books that you feel really, really bad about not finishing. Everyone else seems to like it and there is so much diversity in it, but I just couldn’t. I prefer fast paced books and this wasn’t one of those. I would check out other reviews on Goodreads. They are pretty positive.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: February Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

