Rapid Fire Book Tag

mini-reviews-4

I haven’t done a tag in a while and I saw this one on the Orang-utan Librarian. It looked like tons of fun so I naturally decided to do it myself. 🙂


eBooks or physical books?

I prefer physical books (there’s nothing like feeling the weight of it and turning the pages), but often end up reading eBooks more. It really depends on the situation as well. If I’m traveling I’m probably going to bring my Kindle to save room. I usually purchase physical books from authors I know I love. I’m totally running out of space on my shelves.

Paperback or hardback?

Hardback please! They just look so much nicer and I love how there is usually some kind of spine design when you remove the dustcover. LOVE IT!

Online or in-store book shopping?

Oooooh….I can spend hours in a bookstore but I usually spend less money. Maybe it’s because I can visually see the amount of books I want or how heavy they are? I have no idea. Online shopping is so, so dangerous! The one-click system on Amazon is made it so I just buy without thinking, especially during sales. I have a problem hahaha!

Trilogies or series?

Trilogies because a series just takes too much time. I usually give up after the third book anyway.

Heroes or villains?

I’m all for cheering on the hero of the story, but a good villain is always a whole lot of fun! The Darkling anyone?

A book you want everyone to read?

This question is really hard! There are just so many. Where do I even start? I can’t…I just can’t pick one!

Recommend an underrated book.

I can do better than just recommend one! Check out this TTT where I list ten underrated books from 2016.

The last book you finished?

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

Ummm…my electricity bill which I then couldn’t find, ran around the house looking for, freaked out and caused a scene only to realize that it was the paper I folded up and stuck in my book. Oops!

Used books, yes or no?

Sure! Some of the best books I received growing up were found at used book stores or garage sales.

Top three favorite genres?

Fantasy, contemporary and science fiction. Oh and graphic novels! (Yes, I know that’s four. It’s too hard to pick just three.)

Borrow or buy?

I’ll borrow books that I’m unsure about, but totally buy books by authors I adore. I have tons of amazing YA books in my classroom library and will borrow from there when my students recommend a particular title. So, I’ll do a bit of both.

Characters or plot?

Ideally both please! That’s what makes a book good. Right?

Long or short book?

Short for sure. If it’s too long I usually won’t pick it up.

Long or short chapters?

Again, short. It keeps the flow of the book going and makes me feel like I’m making a dent in the page count.

Name the first three books you think of.

The two books I’m writing reviews for and one that I’ve been trying to read for weeks now…

25092254   29739361   25669098

I tend to read books that make me cry. Everyone needs a good cry every once in a while.

Our world or fictional worlds?

Fictional worlds for sure! I read for an escape, to be swept away by a world of kings and queens, mythical creatures, magic…

Audiobooks: yes or no?

Nope. I’ve tried but it’s just not the same.

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

YES! All of the time. I buy books a lot of the time based on their cover, which has more or less worked out well for me. If the cover is ugly I probably won’t want to read it. I’m a cover snob 😦

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

Book to movie adaptions are usually disappointing. There just isn’t enough time to do the complex plots properly. So…I guess TV? Even then I’m not totally sold. I’ll just stick with the book thank you very much.

Series or standalone?

I’m all for duologies now. It allows the author to further develop the world, characters, etc. without dragging it out for too long. If a series is more than three books I usually lose interest.


Tagging…

19 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. I agree with a lot of your answers! I really agree that you can judge a book by its cover. The more thought put into a cover, the more likely it is really good! And I prefer standalones because I want to get onto new storylines more than continue them, unless I really love the book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah love this Q&A post!! All my answers were nearly identical to yours 😂 I’m definitely a cover snob as well, if a book has an unattractive cover I just won’t pick it up. Probably not the greatest rule to live by, but what can you do? 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Book Fests Award – The Book Raven

  4. Pingback: February Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

