Blog Tour | Queen of Chaos by Kat Ross

queenofchaostourbanner

I received this book for free from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

queen-of-chaos-ebook-smallQueen of Chaos by Kat Ross
Release date: January 18th, 2017
Publisher: Acorn Publishing
Genre: Fantasy, young adult
Format: eBook
Source: Xpresso Book Tours

555335 copy 2

Goodreads | Amazon

Persepolae has fallen.

Karnopolis has burned.

As the dark forces of the Undead sweep across what remains of the empire, Nazafareen must obey the summons of a demon queen to save Darius’s father, Victor. Burdened with a power she doesn’t understand and can barely control, Nazafareen embarks on a perilous journey through the shadowlands to the House-Behind-the-Veil. But what awaits her there is worse than she ever imagined…

A thousand leagues away, Tijah leads a group of children on a desperate mission to rescue the prisoners at Gorgon-e Gaz, the stronghold where the oldest daēvas are kept. To get there, they must cross the Great Salt Plain, a parched ruin occupied by the armies of the night. A chance encounter adds a ghost from the past to their number. But will they arrive in time to avert a massacre?

And in the House-Behind-the-Veil, Balthazar and the Prophet Zarathustra discover that they have more in common than meets the eye. But is it enough to redeem the necromancer’s bloodstained soul and thwart his mistress’s plans?

As a final showdown looms with Queen Neblis, the truth of the daēvas’ origins is revealed and three worlds collide in this thrilling conclusion to the Fourth Element series.

rew

* Read my reviews of the other books in the series, The Midnight Sea and Blood of the Prophet.

This has quickly become one of my favourite book series of all time! With each new release it just got better and better. I cannot and will not stop gushing about how amazing it is. I’m never a read-a-book-in-one-sitting kind of person, but I totally did it with Queen of Chaos. Then I hugged my Kindle and wanted to start the series all over again. Simply said, I LOVED IT!

Like its predecessors, Queen of Chaos was fast paced and totally engrossing. There were so many twists and turns and shocking moments. I was constantly mumbling “what” in complete shock. The story also wraps up major plot lines and answered all of the questions I had about the daēvas. It was truly a satisfying way to the end series!

Unlike in the past two books, Nazafareen doesn’t really take centre stage. While she’s obviously key to the story and overall plot, Kat Ross also takes the time to explore the lives of the other characters such as Tijah, Balthazar and Lysandros through chapters with alternating points of view. I really liked seeing their take on things, especially Balthazar, who occupies a grey area between good and evil. His development over the three books is truly stunning. I couldn’t help but love him!

Nazafareen’s character continued to develop. It’s amazing how much she had grown throughout the series. She had suffered so much – losing her friends and family, the betrayal of friend, torture – and yet she was still willing to give up her life to prevent evil from taking over the land of the living. And the romance between her and Darius…my poor little heart! I JUST ADORE THESE TWO! I was rooting for them since the first book and I’m so happy with the way their story ended. Again, no spoilers, but I had a HUGE smile on my face.

Talking about fantastic characters, Tijah really shone in this book. And it’s about time! She  was fierce and a complete sword wielding, monster killing badass. A loved reading chapters from her point of view. She was so brutally honest and the struggle she went through after losing her closest friend was both heartbreaking and inspiring. While I loved this character, I did take issue with how her homeland of Al Miraji was portrayed. Al Miraji was heavily inspired by the Middle East and fed into the stereotypes of how men in the region treat women. It painted the Al Miraji (Middle East) as evil and backwards because women were not educated, forced into unwanted marriages and expected to be hidden away and silent.

While reading I kept on thinking that some of these characters needed their own story, full-length or novella, I didn’t want this story to end. Three books just wasn’t enough! Luckily for me, Kat Ross has said that she isn’t done with this world or its characters. So…that means there are more adventures to come! I honestly can’t wait!!!


555335

Click the link to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway. Win 1 of 10 eBook copies of The Daemoniac by Kat Ross. Good luck!

11 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Queen of Chaos by Kat Ross

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up! |

    • I often just add the image from whatever site I’m borrowing it from and post it as an image widget (if you need more help I can explain it better).

      I also create things using Canva.com. I’m by no means good at using it but it’s great for photo editing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

