Review | The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

30076808The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace
Release date: April 23rd, 2016
Publisher: CreateSpace
Genre: Poetry
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Hearts.001

Goodreads | Amazon

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

rew

This was such an emotional read. I don’t think I’ve openly cried so much while reading this year. The author’s words were heart-wrenching and brutally honest. My heart was smashed into tiny pieces and then carefully pieced back together again. It was beautiful, stunning, gorgeous…it’s impossible to find the words that can accurately describe how I felt about this book.

I’ve written, erased and rewritten this review so many times. Why is it so difficult to write a review for a book that you loved? What I can say is that I’m extremely happy that I finally downloaded The Princess Saves Herself in this One. It’s been all over social media this past year and was named best poetry book in the Goodreads Choice Awards. I saw it but never actually took the leap and bought it. What was I thinking? It lives up to all of the hype and more. I wasn’t prepared for how it would make me feel.

I’ve read more poetry this past year than I ever have in the past. The Princess Saves Herself in this One reinforced why I need to read more of this genre. I may not have identified with all of the topics discussed in the book, but all of the words hit me hard. That’s what’s wonderful about poetry. It has a way of making you feel so many emotions, even when only a few words are used. The poems may be short but here less is definitely more!

I cannot recommend this book enough. If you haven’t read The Princess Saves Herself in this One you need to pick it up. You don’t even need to be a reader of poetry. You’ll be hooked and so emotionally invested after the first page…it’s life changing. Trust me. Just read it.


about

15225448Growing up a word-devourer and avid fairy tale lover, it was only natural that Amanda Lovelace began writing books of her own, and so she did. When she isn’t reading or writing, she can be found waiting for pumpkin spice coffee to come back into season and binge-watching Gilmore Girls. The lifelong poetess and storyteller currently lives in New Jersey with her fiancé, their two moody cats, and a combined book collection so large it will soon need its own home. As of 2016, she is working towards her B.A. in English literature with a minor in sociology. The Princess Saves Herself in this One, originally published in 2016, is her debut poetry collection.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

20 thoughts on “Review | The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

  1. Wow, I totally didn’t realize this book was poetry! (Or maybe I knew and forgot, lol, I added it to my to-read a while ago). I also find it really hard to write reviews of books I completely loved! It’s difficult to put to words without just sounding like a gushing fangirl (not that that’s bad, lol). I definitely need to read this book!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: January Wrap Up! |

  3. Pingback: February Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

