Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

book-tag-001

I love this tag! I saw it on Going Through Books and decided to do it as well. This tag was created by The Book Archer and is a series of questions about your opinions on famous books and authors.

I won’t be tagging anyone because this tag has been around for ages. I’m not sure who has or hasn’t done it yet. If you haven’t, consider yourself tagged! I would love to see your answers. 🙂


A popular book or series that you didn’t like:

12954620

I brought this book because everyone was raving about how amazing it was. I’m a huge fan of fantasy and the cover is totally my “thing”. A hooded person wielding daggers with a misty castle in the background? YES PLEASE! But it was horrible. I can’t stand this book at all! Nope, nothing nice to say about it. *shudders*

A popular book/series that everyone seems to hate but you love:

10507293

Yes, The Selection series was sometimes silly and the characters infuriating, but I loved reading these books! They were fluffy, quick to read and a whole lot of fun.

A love triangle where the main character ends up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with:

16034235

I’m so done with this series and it saddens me because I really, really loved the first three books. I became frustrated with the direction the story went in and my enthusiasm just died. I haven’t read Empire of Storms, but from all of the posts about it I was able to gather that Aelin ended up with the character I detested. I don’t think their relationship was healthy and why does she even need to be with someone? Couldn’t she just figure things out on her own?

A popular book genre you hardly reach for:

I never, ever pick up horror novels. I just can’t deal with scary things. I’ll happily read a book that makes me smile like crazy, cry like a baby and want to throw something at a wall, but being frightened isn’t my idea of a good time. It’s the same for movies or TV shows. Nope, no thank you! The genre has no appeal to me whatsoever.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into:

I’ve tried to read Sarah Dessen books a few times now and haven’t really been able to connect with them as others do. I read That Summer earlier this year and found it to be quite boring. Nothing happened. The plot went nowhere. I started Along for the Ride but put it down when I got really busy with work and just haven’t picked it up again.

A popular book trope you’re tired of seeing:

Love triangles! I’ve ranted about this so many times but I really hate books that have one. Of course, YA is full of love triangles, squares…whatever…and yes I suffer through them but a lot of the time it isn’t necessary. The plot would be fine without it. Extra drama doesn’t always equal more entertaining. Also, it usually makes the female character, who has to decide between two oh-so handsome young men, seem confused and incapable of making decisions. Argh…it makes me mad!

A popular series you have no interest in reading:

18660669

Lots of people have talked about how much they enjoyed the series, but I have no interest in vampires. Plus, the only Rachelle Mead book I read, Soundless, was a huge disappointment. Yes, I’ve been told that it wasn’t the best example of her writing but I’m not going to pick up a series that I don’t have a single ounce of interest in. Too many other books and not enough time!

What movie/TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

17332969

The book was middle of the road for me. Not good but not terrible either. Just blah. The TV series was a lot more exciting and drama filled. I’ve watched the first season on Netflix and am saving the rest for when it gets colder and all I want to do is stay inside cuddled up in blankets with a nice cup of tea.

14 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I’ve read numerous Sarah Dessen books and they’re pretty straight-forward YA romance novels. By about book three/four i realised how similar they were and I stopped reading them, although some have pretty serious subject matters – Just Listen, Lock and Key for example 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, man. You’re officially the only person I’ve come across who thinks the ToG series gets worse instead of better over time–which I find especially alarming because I disliked the first book so much, and I don’t know how it can get worse. I haven’t continued with the series yet, but I was fully expecting to dislike books two and three, then enjoy the final books. You’ve made me question EVERYTHING.

    Heck no to horror stories. Do they keep you awake at night, too? I can be totally fine watching/reading horror stories during the day, but as soon as it’s time to go to bed I’m abruptly 100% certain that demons exist and they’re going to eat my face. I can’t handle it.

    “Extra drama doesn’t always equal more entertaining.” THIS. Love triangles can piss me off in so many different ways. Here’s hoping you aren’t afflicted with too many of them in your 2017 TBR! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally respect that the author can do whatever they want with the characters – it’s their story – but nope! TOG just became a giant mess! Lack of diversity, abusive, overly “manly” male characters, stupid decisions….I just couldn’t do it. I also read A Court of Thorns and Roses, found the same patterns and gave up on that series as well.

      YES! Horror stories keep me up at night. My imagination runs wild and it’s ridiculous. I’m 29 years old. Hahaha it’s embarrassing but true.

      Down with the love triangle! I’m so glad others feel the same way. ENOUGH! Here’s hoping that we both avoid them. Thanks for stopping by the blog! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve seen that a lot of people have loved the series. I found the characters to be really bland and one dimensional. I couldn’t connect with any of them. In fact, the female characters were really disappointing because they fell into the I need saving category and couldn’t think for themselves. I constantly found myself wanting to throttle them. It was a very long struggle to finish the book. I love fantasy and thought I would love it. It just wasn’t for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hmm… I would say that Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver appears to be a slice of life, but towards the end it turns into, not quite a thriller, but something very psychological. The Girl on The Train is a mystery, but really good. My favorites are comics on a website called Webtoons. Those suggestions would be Dr. Frost,me which isn’t a thriller, but is very psychological, especially in the recent chapters. The best psychological thriller, in my opinion, would be Bastard. These are some of my personal favorites to read, and I hope you enjoy them! 🙂

        Like

  3. Pingback: December Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

