ARC Review | I’m a Lot of Sometimes by Jack Guinan

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Screen Shot 2016-10-20 at 7.38.48 PM.png
I’m a Lot of Sometimes by Jack Guinan
Release date: January 9th, 2017
Publisher: Red Chair Press
Genre: Picture Book
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

555335 copy 3

Goodreads | Amazon

Growing up can be oh-so confusing! “Shhh, don’t be so loud.” “Speak up!” “You’ve got to be the BIG brother now.” “You’re much too little to go on the big rides.” Sometimes, it’s best to just be YOU. For ages 3 to 5 and all of us still confused about mixed messages as we “grow up”.

rew

In this short picture book, the reader is taken through a series of comparisons about things we may be, feel or do while growing up.  While this is less of a growing-up story and more of a feelings story, it is written with a rhythm that keeps you wanting to read on.

The author gets the point across that it is ok to feel things and reinforces the idea that we don’t all have to behave in a certain way all of the time.  This is a great lesson for children of all ages, while the book lends itself more towards lower elementary.

I must say that I struggled with the grammar a bit as I had a hard time reading “sometimes I’m seek” as opposed to “sometimes I seek”.  Putting that aside, the book is a cute reminder that it is okay to just be you.

There are a lot of possible discussion prompts here, but I would use this book in the first few weeks of school when establishing community.

Possible Prompts:

-What would our classroom be like if we all acted and felt the same way all the time?

-Why do you think it is important that we each are different?

-When is a time that you have felt …..?

Happy Reading,

screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-9-46-23-pm

One thought on “ARC Review | I’m a Lot of Sometimes by Jack Guinan

Leave a Reply

