Review | My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

32946000.jpgMy Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris
Release date: September 11th, 2012
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Genre: Young adult, historical fiction, romance
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Untitled 2.001

Goodreads | Amazon

On the precipice of her sixteenth birthday, the last thing lone wolf Cat Crawford wants is an extravagant gala thrown by her bubbly stepmother and well-meaning father. So even though Cat knows the family’s trip to Florence, Italy, is a peace offering, she embraces the magical city and all it offers. But when her curiosity leads her to an unusual gypsy tent, she exits . . . right into Renaissance Firenze.Thrust into the sixteenth century armed with only a backpack full of contraband future items, Cat joins up with her ancestors, the sweet Alessandra and protective Cipriano, and soon falls for the gorgeous aspiring artist Lorenzo. But when the much-older Niccolo starts sniffing around, Cat realizes that an unwanted birthday party is nothing compared to an unwanted suitor full of creeptastic amore. Can she find her way back to modern times before her Italian adventure turns into an Italian forever?

rew

Another book that I probably would not have heard of if Entangled: Teen had not included it in their newsletter. THANK YOU! I’m usually a fantasy only kind of reader but I LOVED THIS BOOK! My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century was so perfectly fluffy, adorable and smile inducing that it made me feel all warm inside. Sometimes you just need an escape from your regular life. I’ve been so caught up with work and all of the stress that’s associated with it so this book was perfect for me! 🙂

titles copy 2

  • There was some great CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. At the beginning Cat was rather irritating. She was all about the eye rolling and attitude. Basically, she was a spoiled brat that didn’t know how good her life really was. Usually I would have given up because I hate character like this, but the author did a fantastic job of showing Cat’s true personality. Hurt too many times to count, she put up a wall to protect herself. I really loved the “real” Cat with all of her awkward moments, humour and use of modern slang. ❤
  • The HISTORY and SETTING were so well written and described. The author obviously did her research. Sixteenth century Italy has so much to offer: art, architecture, fashion…all of which were described so vividly to the reader. I was very jealous of all the beautiful dresses Cat got to wear. Plus, a special cameo by Michelangelo made my history loving heart very happy!
  • The ROMANCE is beyond swoon worthy! The book is set in Italy so…yes Cat’s romantic interest, Lorenzo, was perfect! I was in love with him after finishing the first page he appeared on. He was initially described as a player and I enjoyed Cat’s inner dialogue to avoid him at all costs. The romance was a slow build: a flirtation, dancing, brushes of the hand…all things that make me sigh.
  • There was just so much DRAMA! This book never had a dull moment. Most of the drama came from an older gentleman who threatened Cat’s relationship with Lorenzo. He was creepy and slimy enough that you hated him and I found myself getting very worked up in scenes between him and Cat.
  • While reading I found myself laughing a lot. There was tons of HUMOUR in this book. As to be expected, Cat was pretty clueless about a lot of things in sixteenth century Italy. This lead to a lot of awkwardly funny moments between her and the other characters.
  • There was a perfect BALANCE between the funny moments, the romance and the gut wrenching drama that I never grew bored. I read through this book fairly quickly. It was seriously difficult to put down and I didn’t expect to feel that way about it when I first picked it up. It was such a surprise!

titles

  • The book ends on a CLIFFHANGER and it just killed me! NOOOOOO! I NEED to know what happens and I’ve already downloaded the second book. Of course it got me interested in reading the sequel but what I really wanted was closure. A nice ending that would have made me smile.

Hands down this is a book that you REALLY need to read, especially if you like super cute romances and/or history. It has a little bit for everyone! I’m off to read book number two right now!


about

5347676New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Rachel Harris writes humorous love stories about sassy girls-next-door and the hot guys that make them swoon. Vibrant settings, witty banter, and strong relationships are a staple in each of her books…and kissing. Lots of kissing.

An admitted bookaholic and homeschool mom, she gets through each day by laughing at herself, hugging her kids, and watching way too much Food Network with her husband. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult romances, and LOVES talking with readers!

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

8 thoughts on “Review | My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris

  1. Not going to lie, I first saw this cover and nearly went NAH right away – but then I actually read your review, scrolled back up and went OHHH – omg time travelly stuff and 16thC Italy?!! This book sounds gloriously fluffy and yes. Thanks for sharing this because I’m 100% going to keep an eye out for it now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: “Things Every Girl Must Pack for the Sixteenth Century” by Rachel Harris |

  3. Pingback: December Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

