My Bookish History Tag

book-tag-001

I wasn’t tagged but I saw this on Kourtni Reads (please check out her lovely blog) and decided to do it as well. Bonus: it’s short and not too difficult aka my kind of tag! 😛

Rules:

  1. Link back to whoever tagged you.
  2. Discuss based on these questions, or create your own to help you out!

Do you have any childhood favorites (I’m thinking along the lines of those chapter books in elementary school)?

I’m trying to think back…I really didn’t like reading in early elementary school. Well, not until I discovered Harry Potter. That changed everything. In grades 1 and 2 I had difficulty reading. My parents had me using Hooked on Phonics and tutoring but the sounds of the letters and the way the words looked never sounded right. So, so the longest time I hated reading because I associated it with my failings. However, thankfully, by grade 3 everything finally connected.

Is there a book/series that really got your reading hobby snowballing?

The Harry Potter series were the first books that I eagerly anticipated and read in one night! I read before the series came out, but not because I enjoyed doing it. It was something that was expected of me and I related it to school, which made me dislike it even more. These books completely changed the way I viewed reading and I’ll be forever grateful for them.

harry-potter-montage

Are there any books you enjoyed, even though you had to read them for school?

I was the strange kid who loved when we studied Shakespeare. I enjoyed figuring out the meaning of what was written, learning new insults and acting scenes out. Waving around a  ruler as a sword and reenacting battles from Macbeth was so much fun!

Was there a book that changed the genres you read? (i.e. were you an avid reader of contemporary, but now it’s all about those dragons?)

I used to only read historical fiction until I discovered (I don’t even remember how) the Kingmaker, Kingbreaker duology by Karen Miller. I zipped through the first book and by the end of the second I was hooked on fantasy. It’s been my go-to genre ever since.

kingmakerkingbreaker

Are there any other books/series that hold a special place in your heart?

Anything by Jane Austen (especially Persuasion) and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I can read these books over and over (and believe me I have) and still feel every emotion. These two women truly knew how to write about love, forgiveness, jealousy…it says something about the power of their words when 100+ years later millions of people are still reading and purchasing their books!

What kind of bookworm are you now? You can mention anything. Can you easily read 100 books in 6 months? A slower reader? Are you a mood reader or do you set book goals? Do you hoard books? Do you have 79084 books on your TBR list?

I’ve tried to make TBR lists but I never, ever stick to them. So, now I’ve just given up! I’m more of a mood reader. It really depends on how I feel when I finish a book. Was it emotionally draining? Then I need to read something upbeat and cute and so on. I’m not a fast reader (other bloggers put me to shame) but I certainly don’t read slowly. It’s really based on what I have happening at work. My TBR is HUGE but who’s isn’t? I can’t help but buy pretty books. There’s no rule that says I need to read them all right away. 😛

Do you have a shelfie for us?

The pictures aren’t very good because the lighting is always off in my room. A large amount of my books are still at my parents house, but these are the books I’ve accumulated over the past year.


Tags!

20 thoughts on “My Bookish History Tag

      • I like Asian historical fiction surrounding pretty much any time period and I love Salem witch trial lit. I LOVED The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent and I loved Shanghai Girls by Lisa See. Also, Susannah Morrow is a good one, too!
        I haven’t read one in awhile, unfortunately. I’ve been on this YA fantasy kick for awhile, and right before that it was VC Andrews all the time (I’m a little OCD). I need to get back into some good historical fiction! I have a good one about Lizzie Borden I want to read.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the same way. I’ve been full steam YA fantasy and haven’t shown much love to historical fiction. I’ve read mostly fantasy books set in Asia or just historical books about the atomic bomb. It’s a region I just haven’t explored. For me it’s mostly ancient Egypt, Scotland, the Tudor period and the world wars.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: November Wrap Up! |

  2. Pingback: My Bookish History Tag – Meghan's Whimsical Explorations & Reviews

Leave a Reply

