The Miranda Sings Award

the-mirana-sings-award

Thank you to the fabulous Beth at Reading Every Night for nominating for this award. Like Beth, I found this extremely hard to complete. I always feel uncomfortable talking about myself or writing down things that I like about myself. It just seems strange! I am also a negative person. I beat myself up for every tiny mistake and I know it’s something I need to work on. That said, I think this award is AMAZING because it’s important to stop and think of things that you love about yourself. So, thank you Beth! ❤


The Rules:

  • Announce your win with a post, and link the blogger who nominated you.
  • Include the featured image on your blog post.
  • Nominate ten bloggers (or as many as you can think of) and link your awardees in the post.
  • List seven things you love about yourself. (This can be about your appearance, your personality, your achievements, etc.)
  • Don’t use negative connotation (i.e. Don’t say things like – “I’m prettier than an average person.” or “People have told me I’m smart.” You are pretty. You are smart.)

I’m dedicated…I always give 100% to whatever I’m working on. This especially applies to my job. As a teacher, I have no problem dedicating the after school or on weekend to helping my students become the best version of themselves. I spend hours lesson planning and writing feedback because I know it will help them. I don’t care if this means I have less time to go out or do something else. My students come first because there is nothing more rewarding than seeing them smile or achieve their goals.

I’m a good listener…I may not have any answers, but I am always willing to listen to friends when they have a problem. Sometimes just saying how they feel out loud or being able to cry without judgment is all they need to feel better.

I’m happy with my height…I’m 5 feet tall and this has always been an issue for me. It’s embarrassing being twenty-something and receiving the children’s menu at a restaurant. I teach 9th grade and all of my students are way taller than me. I’m constantly looking up at people. Before I used to care about what people thought, but now I’m happy with my height. Yeah, I’m short and I love it! My age or experience in my job isn’t related to my height. If I can’t reach something I’ll just grab a chair to stand on. No big deal!

I love to travel…I caught the travel bug and can’t/would never want to shake it. Traveling has been a huge part of my life and I just can’t get enough of it. I’ve learned so much about other cultures and myself while traveling alone or with friends. In fact, traveling alone helped me love and trust myself. It has greatly shaped the person I am today.

I have made great strides in learning Spanish…My husband is Mexican and when we met I didn’t speak a word of Spanish. I put off learning the language for a couple of years. I always said I was too busy, but really I was scared and lazy. Over the past year I have made an effort to move beyond the basics. I have a long way to go, but my confidence is building and I’m actually excited to use what I’ve learned so far.

I have become a runner…Exercise has never been my “thing” but I now love running. It’s such an amazing stress reliever and when running I feel so free. The rush and satisfaction I get is hard to explain. I completed my first 5K (running the whole time without a break) in October and I was so proud of myself. I have a few other runs planned out in the next couple of months and can’t wait!

I’m loyal…Friends and family mean the world to me. Their love and support have gotten me through a lot over the years and I’m enterally grateful. I’m the type of person who will go above and beyond to help those I care about, even if it means I have less time for myself.


Tags:

Wow! That was really hard but I did it! 🙂 I’m tagging the following people (and of course if you want to do it consider yourself tagged):

12 thoughts on “The Miranda Sings Award

  1. I’m glad you had fun with this tag Jacquie. It’s definitely hard to think positively about yourself, for some reason I always think it makes me sound big-headed and like I’m bragging as well, but it’s great to be able to highlight the positives about yourself instead of worrying over the negatives right?
    I loved reading all your positives, and it’s great you’re learning Spanish as well. I’d love to be able to speak another language one day! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree! I always have this worry that if I’m talking about myself than I’m attracting unwarranted attention or it’s going to turn people off. It’s such a wrong way to look at life and ourselves. It’s just so hard to change that way of thinking. I’m an introvert and I’m the type of person who just wants to hide. But YES for being positive and promoting it. WE NEED TO LOVE OURSELVES! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s definitely the wrong way to look at life but I think every person does it so we all probably know it’s not bragging so much as thinking positively you know? I’m the same, introverted and happy not standing out at all but it was kind of fun looking at myself and thinking of the positives about me you know, I’m sure it was the same for you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tagging me, Jacquie! I’m excited to do this one but I can tell that it’s gonna be tough. It’s so hard to think good things about yourself, even though it shouldn’t be! Loved reading all your answers ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a runner too! It is such a great stress reliever and it’s so nice to have something to challenge yourself, whether it is increasing your distance or speed. I enjoy a nice long run but a 10k is about the longest distance I ever care to run. After an hour I get bored. I actually did a sprint triathlon last year and loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: November Wrap Up! |

  5. Pingback: Awards and Milestones | Versatile Blogger, Miranda Sings, and Other Announcements – The Uncharted Word

Leave a Reply

