DNF Review | A Study in Scarlet Women by Sherry Thomas

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

28588390A Study in Scarlet Women by Sherry Thomas
Release date: October 18th, 2016
Publisher: Berkley
Genre: Historical fiction, mystery
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Goodreads | Amazon

With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the fairer sex in upper class society.  But even she never thought that she would become a social pariah, an outcast fending for herself on the mean streets of London.

When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her sister and her father, Charlotte is desperate to find the true culprits and clear the family name. She’ll have help from friends new and old—a kind-hearted widow, a police inspector, and a man who has long loved her. But in the end, it will be up to Charlotte, under the assumed name Sherlock Holmes, to challenge society’s expectations and match wits against an unseen mastermind.

dnf

I’m kind of obsessed with Sherlock Holmes right now. I devoured Elementary on Netflix and can read the original stories over and over again. When I saw this book listed on NetGalley I automatically became very excited. A female Holmes? YES!! The story had so much potential but unfortunately it fell flat.

I tried to read on but found it really difficult to continue. I read up to 30% and made the decision to put it down. I should want to read a book. I should be engaged and excited to find out what will happen next. With this book I simply didn’t feel that excitement. It was tough going from the first page. I just wasn’t interested in the story, the case or the characters. I was bored!

A lot of my problems were based on the fact that Charlotte Holmes was very unlikable. The character was cold and at times not the genius detective of the original stories. Yes, she was able to deduce various things but a lot of the times obvious things were beyond her comprehension. She was a very uneven character and that bothered me. The story also starts with her being caught in an illicit affair and the whole situation rubbed me the wrong way. Why does she need to be a “disgraced” woman? Argh! *shakes fist* She wasn’t the character I was expecting.

Of course, this is my opinion. There are plenty of reviews that are quite positive about the book. I just didn’t see the point in slugging my way through a book I wasn’t enjoying. I’m just so sad it ended up this way because I had such high hopes. 😦

7 thoughts on “DNF Review | A Study in Scarlet Women by Sherry Thomas

  1. DNFing sucks, however I don’t blame you cause I DNF books all the time that I’m not into. Some books aren’t meant to be for the reader. And the way you described her character, I would’ve also just DNFed for the same reason. Thanks for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry you didn’t like it.. The moment I heard the title, a voice in my head started going “SHERLOCKKCKK I NEED”, I love everything that has to do with Sherlock Holmes, but now I’m doubting whether I should give it a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: November Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

