ARC Review | Timekeeper by Tara Sim

I received this book for free from Sky Pony Press in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

25760792Timekeeper by Tara Sim
Release date: November 1st, 2016
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Sky Pony Press

Hearts.001

Goodreads | Amazon

Two o’clock was missing. 

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

rew

I want to give this book all of the stars. Yes, seriously. ALL OF THEM! Like catch them all in a giant net and throw them at it. That’s how much I loved this book!

As soon as I saw this book I knew I had to read it. Everything about it was so unique and interesting. A world controlled by a series of clocktowers, the timekeepers who repair them and a forbidden romance with a clock spirit? YES! It exceeded all of my expectations and then some. I’ve had the eARC for months now and can’t believe I didn’t start it until now. What was I thinking? *shakes head at self*

The story is part alternate world, part fantasy and full on steampunk. I’m not really a fan of steampunk but Tara Sim completely changed my mind. I loved the world building! It’s set in industrial age London with hints of modern technology such as cars, but heavily dominated by Greek myth and legend. The blend was surprising but it worked perfectly when woven together.

Sim obviously put a lot of time into planning out this book and its world. From the small details to the backstory, everything is believable and makes you want to read on. I loved how parts were revealed slowly. It built up this mystery and tension that I couldn’t get enough of. I read 60% of the book in one sitting, which is totally unheard of for me. The only reason I put it down was because I had to go to work the next day.

What really drew me in was the story. The book focuses on Danny, a lonely timekeeper or clock mechanic who is suffering from PTSD after a terrible accident. Danny is sent to Enfield to repair a neglected clock, but instead ends up meeting its spirit. Relationships between clock spirits and humans are forbidden, but Danny can’t help how he feels. The story is so human, so beautiful. Danny isn’t a perfect character and I adored him for it. His relationship with Colton, the clock spirit, was adorable and extremely well written. These two stole my heart and I’m totally fine if I never get it back. They were PERFECT! *sighs*

I highly (remember all of those stars?) recommend the Timekeeper! I actually hugged my Kindle when I finished. It was that good. And more amazing news….the sequels are now listed on Goodreads. This makes me so unbelievably happy!! 🙂

15 thoughts on “ARC Review | Timekeeper by Tara Sim

  1. Great review Jacquie! I was lucky enough to get an ARC for this book as well and I loved it too. Especially Danny and Colton, I loved reading their relationship and I just loved Colton in general. He was definitely my favourite character and I can’t wait for the next book now to read more of their story. 😀
    I enjoy Steampunk books but haven’t read too many, Timekeeper is one of my favourites now. Are you planning to pick up more Steampunk books now you’ve enjoyed this one?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

