ARC Review | The Infinity of You & Me by J.Q. Coyle

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

28220701The Infinity of You & Me by J.Q. Coyle
Release date: November 8th, 2016
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, sci-fi
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

555335 copy 2

Goodreads | Amazon

What if every life-altering choice you made could split your world into infinite worlds?

Almost fifteen, Alicia is smart and funny with a deep connection to the poet Sylvia Plath, but she’s ultimately failing at life. With a laundry list of diagnoses, she hallucinates different worlds—strange, decaying, otherworldly yet undeniably real worlds that are completely unlike her own with her single mom and one true friend. In one particularly vivid hallucination, Alicia is drawn to a boy her own age named Jax who’s trapped in a dying universe. Days later, her long-lost father shows up at her birthday party, telling her that the hallucinations aren’t hallucinations, but real worlds; she and Jax are bound by a strange past and intertwining present. This leads her on a journey to find out who she is while trying to save the people and worlds she loves.

rew

The Infinity of You was such an interesting and original read. I was addicted to knowing what would happen next and became so involved in following Alicia through her journey. I strongly recommend this book! It’s not one that you don’t want to miss.

The story is about a young teenager named Alicia, who is on all kinds of meds to help manage her vivid hallucinations. These visions take her to other worlds and connect her to her father (who in the real world abandoned her when she was just a baby). Everything changes when Alicia’s father appears at her 15th birthday party and tells her that she isn’t imagining things, that the worlds from her hallucinations are real.

titles copy 2

  • The story kept me guessing the entire time! Not every thing is explained at first, so patience is definitely needed while reading this book. I was always left with tons of questions and wanted to know more and more. It didn’t take away from the story at all. The lack of answers at the beginning makes sense to me. Alicia has no clue what is going on, so the reader is learning at the same time as the main character. Alicia’s sense of confusion was also mine. It made for a thrilling ride. I COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN!
  • Everything in this story is connected in some way. I loved this because there were so many lightbulb moments. One of the main themes was how are decisions impact those around us, even if we don’t realize it.
  • The characters reference Sylvia Plath’s poetry A LOT. Her poems personally mean a lot to me and helped me connect with Alicia. She starts the book as a closed off, unemotional person, but as you read on you understand that she isn’t that way at all. It’s all because of her hallucinations, she’s sluggish and confused. But the character growth! I was totally cheering for Alicia the whole way. Goodbye timid and fearful and hello brave and loving heroine.
  • The cover art is just beautiful. I’m a huge fan of simplistic covers. And the colours…wow! Also, while I don’t particularly like people on book covers, I’ll let this one slide.

titles

  • Alicia’s best friend, Hafeez, just accepted EVERYTHING without question. Alicia says she travels between worlds, that she has seen a different version of him, that she has memories of her father in other places but their own AND HE JUST GOES WITH IT! It’s really hard to believe, no matter how good of a friend someone is. It’s unnatural. The whole lack of disagreement or freakout didn’t sit right with me.

There’s so much I want to say about this book, but every time I try to write about it I give too much away. So all I have to say is read this book for yourself. It’ll have you captivated from beginning to end. I hope there’s a sequel. I want more from Alicia and the other worlds. 🙂

10 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Infinity of You & Me by J.Q. Coyle

  1. I really enjoyed the book, and it was the first multiverse fiction I was reading, and in some ways I found it more exciting that time-travel fiction..
    Considering that it is a standalone (I would love a sequel too!), I thought the writers did a really good job introducing so many elements into the story..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The cover didn’t reveal much to me about the story and while the synopsis was intriguing, I was still uncertain about picking it up. Now though, after reading your review, I’m so excited to! I love those stories which give you enough information to keep you invested but also allows for those ‘aha’ moments 😀 thanks for bringing this book to my attention with your lovely review!
    Enchanted by YA

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: October Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

