ARC Review | Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

9781449481018_frontcoverBitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet
Release date: October 25th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Genre: Poetry
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Hearts.001

Goodreads | Amazon

Bitter Sweet Love is the much-anticipated second collection of internationally best-selling poet Michael Faudet, author of Dirty Pretty Things, a finalist in the 2015 Goodreads Readers Choice Awards.

Michael Faudet’s whimsical and often erotic writing has captured the hearts and minds of literally thousands of readers from around the world. He paints vivid pictures with intricate words and explores the compelling themes of love, loss, relationships, and sex. All beautifully captured in poetry, prose, quotes, and little short stories.

rew

I was a huge fan of Michael Faudet’s debut collection of poetry, Dirty Pretty Things, and nearly died of excitement when I saw that his follow-up was on NetGalley. I had been  eagerly anticipating the release of Bitter Sweet Love and went into it with high expectations. I was not disappointed at all! It was the perfect blend of dreamy imagery, naughty thoughts and heartbreak.

Essentially this book is a continuation of his debut and expands on the themes of love, relationships and sex. It features traditional poems, free verse and short stories that really appeal to your heart. Unlike his debut, Bitter Sweet Love is more about how humans interact, rather than about sex. Of course, there are several erotic poems, but I definitely preferred his poems that explored falling in and out of love the most.

As someone who usually doesn’t read poetry, Michael Faudet has a way of captivating me. It was dream-like and haunting and beautiful. It’s so difficult to explain. I just don’t have the ability to fully articulate how his words draw me in. All I can say is that his words speak to me on a very emotional level. There is beauty in simplicity and Mr. Faudet has mastered it.

untitled

  • “When we plant weeds in a beautiful garden, it is often tears of regret that water them.”
  • “To speak of unconditional love is like building a palace on quicksand.”
  • “My heart has become a broken compass. Every time I try to leave you, I always find myself running back into your arms.”
  • “I cried an ocean for you but still your ship refuses to sail.”
  • “Falling in love is not rational. It’s madness. A beautiful, wonderful moment of magnificent insanity.”

Have you read Michael Faudet’s debut? I would love to know your thoughts! Also, any other poetry recommendations would be much appreciated. 

8 thoughts on “ARC Review | Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet

  1. Pingback: Friday Blog Hopping Finds – A Lovelorn Virgo

  2. Pingback: October Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

