Review | Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn

RememberYesterdayTour.png

I received this book for free from NetGalley/Entangled: Teen in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

26091228Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn
Release date: October 4th, 2016
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Genre: Young adult, sci-fi
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

555335 copy 2

Goodreads | Amazon

Seventeen-year-old Jessa Stone is the most valuable citizen in Eden City. Her psychic abilities could lead to significant scientific discoveries — if only she’d let TechRA study her. But after they kidnapped and experimented on her as a child, cooperating with the scientists is the last thing Jessa would do.

But when she discovers the past isn’t what she assumed, Jessa must join forces with budding scientist Tanner Callahan to rectify a fatal mistake made ten years ago. She’ll do anything to change her past — even if it means aligning herself with the enemy she swore to defeat.

rew

* Click here to read my review of Forget Tomorrow.

When I first started Remember Yesterday I was a bit disappointed. I had just finished and completely enjoyed its predecessor Forget Tomorrow, which was the perfect blend of a dystopian world, romance and lots of action. I initially found it jarring to have this story told from Jessa’s point of view. Forget Tomorrow focused on Jessa’s sister Callie and it was hard to to let her go. The change was hard and so was getting used to a whole new group of characters after falling madly in love with those from before.

Things didn’t really pick up until the 20%-30% mark. Something just clicked and I was totally engaged. Events and characters from the previous book were now appearing and I could connect with it more. What I really wanted was to know more about Callie. The ending of Forget Tomorrow hurt my heart. It was shocking and while it’s not fully resolved here, it deepens the mystery. The author did a really good job in blending in the backstory (events from book one) without sacrificing the fast pace or new ideas being introduced. Everything had a time and place. The reader was gently reminded about past events, but it never sounded like a play-by-play. I’m now even more invested in the story and its characters. The author has left enough plot lines unresolved that she could release a third book, which I totally want. Like badly want!

One of the things I loved about this book and the previous one was the super adorable romance. I’m totally a sucker for the whole we pretend to hate each other romance. And boy is there tons of that here. The sharp come backs, the swoony kisses…ahhh!!!! My heart just exploded with happiness. Seriously! I feel like I can’t discuss much more about the plot or character or whatever. It’s hard to discuss a sequel without giving too much away. I definitely don’t want to spoil anything, especially not the first book because so much happens in it.

Also, I adore the cover. It’s so pretty with the butterfly and colour scheme. It’s completely different from what I’m used to seeing on YA books.

I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of the series until last month. I was really missing out. The series deserves a lot more hype than it has received. Remember Yesterday was the perfect sequel. You really need to read these books ASAP!

Divider_03

about

Pintip cropped.jpgPintip Dunn is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the Yale Law Journel.

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. Her debut novel, Forget Tomorrow, won the RWA RITA® for Best First Book. Her other novels include The Darkest Lie and the forthcoming Remember Yesterday.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

giv

Click to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway. Win a limited, annotated hardcover of Forget Tomorrow! Good luck! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Review | Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn

  1. Pingback: Mini Review | Before Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn |

  2. Pingback: October Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

