The New York Times ‘By the Book’ Tag

book-tag-001

The New York Times ‘By the Book’ tag was created by Marie Berg. I wasn’t actually tagged but I saw this over at Marie’s Library and decided to do it myself. 🙂


Questions:

1. What book is on your nightstand now?

Right now, I’m reading the The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon and A Darkly Beating Heart
by Lindsay Smith.

2. What was the last truly great book you read?

That’s easy! Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco not only lived up to all of the hype but exceeded all of my expectations. Of course, I haven’t picked up Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo yet so we’ll see.

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I would want to meet Jane Austen over tea. I’m not sure what I would ask because meeting her would be enough.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

I’m always ashamed to say that I have the Twilight series. I don’t even remember how I got them. I’ve only read the first two books, got extremely annoyed and never picked up the rest. It just wasn’t for me.

5. How do you organize your personal library?

I don’t really to anything to organize it. Most of my books are still at my parent’s house in Canada, so my own personal library is just what I’ve bought in the past year or so. It’s not very big, but I love it all the same.

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? Anything you feel embarrased never to have read?

I’ve been saying that I’m going to start the Lunar Chronicles and just never have. A part of me is scared because I want to love it but what if I don’t? The series has been recommended to me by friends and students and they can only say great things. I don’t want to be disappointed.

7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

Earlier this year I was so excited for Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I had heard so much about the book. You honestly couldn’t log onto Twitter or Tumblr without seeing something about it. Magic, fantasy, strong and feisty female character…is sounded perfect! Well, it wasn’t….I was so disappointed. I do want to give it another try. I think my expectations were so high that no book could have lived up to what I was hoping for.

8. What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I love all things fantasy but avoid stories with love triangles. I’m also not a fan of horror because I’m a huge baby and hate getting scared.

9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

Why do I find this question to be so difficult? There are so many important issues right now. Refugees, the inability of politicians in government and the UN to end the violence in Syria and Yemen, racism, poverty….I would just want the president to be informed and to see the human face of all of these problems.

10. What do you plan to read next?

I have a whole list on NetGalley (yes, I over requested again!) that I need to read plus I’ve bought a bunch of books. These are the ones I want to read this month:

  • Haven by Katherine Bogle
  • Marsei by Maria Turtschaninoff
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Tags:

I’m not going to tag anyone because this one has been around for a while. But if you haven’t  done it yet and would like to, consider yourself tagged! Have a wonderful day!

13 thoughts on “The New York Times ‘By the Book’ Tag

  1. Great Post 😊 I loved The Bone Sparrow, it was such a heartwarming read! I also have the Twilight books on my shelf, so don’t feel that bad 😉 Also – I’m also late to the party when it comes to The Lunar Chronicles 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag! | Ardent Attachments

  3. Pingback: October Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

