Mini Review | The Universe of Us by Lang Leav

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

29431081The Universe of Us by Lang Leav
Release date: October 4th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Genre: Poetry
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Hearts.001

Goodreads | Amazon

Lang Leav presents a completely new collection of poetry with a celestial theme in The Universe of Us.

Planets, stars, and constellations feature prominently in this beautiful, original poetry collection from Lang Leav.  Inspired by the wonders of the universe, the best-selling poetess writes about love and loss, hope and hurt, being lost and found.  Lang’s poetry encompasses the breadth of emotions we all experience and evokes universal feelings with her skillfully crafted words.

rew

Up until a few years ago, poetry was not my cup of tea. I had this preconceived notion of what poetry was. For me it was always the stuffy boring verses that I was forced to analyze in school. Or even flashbacks to when I had to write and present a poem to the class. I avoided it at all costs until I stumbled upon one of Lang Leav’s poems on Tumblr. Her use of words, the way she wrote them, it made my heart tighten. It was as if she had wrote that particular poem for me and that’s why I keep on picking up her collections. Her topics are universal and accessible to all.

The Universe of Us, her fourth release, is simply beautiful. Like in her previous collections, it mainly focuses on the themes of love and loss, but with celestial and planetary imagery blended in. Most of the poems were very short, a few sentences or even one line, but that’s all that she needs to pull at your heartstrings. I can totally understand why so many people, including myself, have continued to revisit her work. The poems aren’t tradition in any sense. They are mainly free verse that read like lyrics to a song, repetitive and catchy.

I highly recommend The Universe of Us, even if you haven’t enjoyed poetry in the past. This book will definitely change your mind!

Favourite Lines:

  • “Remember, your words are your power. Never forget your words.”
  • “But when I look at you, I just know instinctively, that despite the odds against you and although life will always find a way to test you, someday you’ll have everything you want. Your ending will be a happy one.”
  • “Yes, I think it is entirely possible to fall in love with someone you’ve never met. Physicality is an expression of intimacy—not an indication of it.”
5 thoughts on “Mini Review | The Universe of Us by Lang Leav

  1. Pingback: October Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

