Review | Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn

24804505Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn
Release date: November 3rd, 2015
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Genre: Young adult, sci-fi
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon

Untitled 2.001

Goodreads | Amazon

Imagine a world where your destiny has already been decided…by your future self.

It’s Callie’s seventeenth birthday and, like everyone else, she’s eagerly awaiting her vision―a memory sent back in time to sculpt each citizen into the person they’re meant to be. A world-class swimmer. A renowned scientist.

Or in Callie’s case, a criminal.

In her vision, she sees herself murdering her gifted younger sister. Before she can process what it means, Callie is arrested and placed in Limbo―a prison for those destined to break the law. With the help of her childhood crush, Logan, a boy she hasn’t spoken to in five years, she escapes the hellish prison.

But on the run from her future, as well as the government, Callie sets in motion a chain of events that she hopes will change her fate. If not, she must figure out how to protect her sister from the biggest threat of all.

Callie herself.

rew

How had I not heard of this book before?! I’m seriously disappointed in my past self because it was fantastic! I picked up Forget Tomorrow because I received a review copy of its sequel, Remember Yesterday, from the publisher. Instead of reading the second book first, struggling through it and being all kinds of confused, I decided to do it the right way and read the first book in the series.

Ok…where to start? Forget Tomorrow was a perfect mixture of relatable protagonist, mystery, action and adorable romance. It was fast paced with never a dull moment. So, by the end of the first chapter I was hooked! I read the book in a day, which is pretty crazy for me because it was over 300 pages long! I’m a slower reader but I just couldn’t put it down.

Part of the reason why I enjoyed this book so much was its interesting premise. The story is set in a futuristic dystopian society where people’s lives are dictated by their future memory. This is a scene sent to them on their seventeenth birthday that helps guide them for the rest of their lives. However, for some people, this future memory could be of them committing a crime. Instead of waiting for the crime to happen or allowing the individual to try to change their future, the government places them in detention. The story’s lead character, Callie, receives a horrifying future memory in which she murders her own sister.

Callie was a great main character. She had so much hope for the future and her future memory shattered her world. It was heartbreaking to see how one image could change someone forever. I totally understood her love and willingness to do anything to keep her sister safe. That kind of selflessness endeared her to me. Callie had to face a lot of hard decisions. I especially like how she fought a war within herself. Do we have free will or is the future already planned out for us? The budding romance between Callie and Logan was super cute! I loved these two together. And I appreciated how the author didn’t include instalove or a love triangle…two tropes way overdone in a lot of YA. The romance here has been built up over time. Their backstory and friendship make it believable and totally swoon worthy.

The ending floored me! It was completely shocking, especially since I didn’t see it coming. I though I had everything figured out and boom! I’m honestly still reeling. I have no idea where the story is going to go. Luckily for me, I don’t have to wait long before I find out what happens next.

9 thoughts on “Review | Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn

  1. Pingback: September Wrap Up! |

  2. Pingback: Review | Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn |

  3. Pingback: Mini Review | Before Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn |

Leave a Reply

