ARC Review + Giveaway | Blood of the Prophet by Kat Ross

bloodoftheprophettourbanner

I received this book for free from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

30228183Blood of the Prophet by Kat Ross
Release date: September 12th, 2016
Publisher: Acorn Publishing
Genre: Fantasy, young adult
Format: eBook
Source: Xpresso Book Tours

Untitled 2.001

Goodreads | Amazon

Visionary. Alchemist. Savior. Saint.

The Prophet Zarathustra has been called many things. Now he spends his time drawing pictures of weird-looking goats. That’s what happens when you’ve been stuck in a prison cell for two hundred years. But the man who might be mad, and is definitely supposed to be dead, has suddenly become very valuable again…

It’s only been a few weeks since Nazafareen escaped the King’s dungeons with her daēva, Darius. She hoped never to set foot in the empire again, but the search for the Prophet has led them to the ancient city of Karnopolis. They have to find him before Alexander of Macydon burns Persepolae, and Darius’s mother with it. But they’re not the only ones looking.

The necromancer Balthazar has his own plans for the Prophet, and so does the sinister spymaster of the Numerators. As Nazafareen is drawn in to a dangerous game of cat and mouse, her newfound powers take a decidedly dark turn. Only the Prophet understands the secret of her gift, but the price of that knowledge may turn out to be more than Nazafareen is willing to pay…

rew

* My review of the first book, The Midnight Sea, can be found here.

Since reading The Midnight Sea last month, I just haven’t been able to stop gushing about how much I loved it – the characters, the world and the magic. It was EVERYTHING I look for in a fantasy book. So, you can just imagine how excited I was to receive an early copy of Blood of the Prophet to review. I had such high expectations and the book did not disappoint! If anything, it was even better than the first one and that’s saying something!

Blood of the Prophet picks up right where the first book left off. Nazafareen and her daēva Darius have embarked on a dangerous journey to find the Prophet Zarathustra. They, like the reader, have so many questions that need to be answered. Of course, their journey isn’t easy. They must face necromancers, spies and a race against time to save the city of Persepolae.

What I really enjoy about this series is how engrossing it is. It’s written at a fast pace and the action is non-stop. I literally sat down to read a few chapters and then found myself about half-way through. It is so hard to put down and you just can’t stop yourself from wanting to read just a few more pages. If I didn’t have to wake up at 5am to go to work I totally would have finished it in one night.

Sometimes with sequels the author wants to review or go over the main points from the first book. With fantasy, this could be re-explaining the magic system, mythical beings, etc. And honestly, it’s exhausting! Thankfully, Kat Ross is able to do this without bogging down the pace of the book or taking away from the story. It’s seamlessly done and most of the time I didn’t even notice it was happening.

In my last review I talked about how much I loved Nazafareen and believe it or not, I LOVE HER EVEN MORE! She went through so much in the previous book and now has to deal with the fallout. Lots of what she goes through is linked to major plot points in The Midnight Sea, so I won’t go into any detail here. I just don’t want to spoil the first novel for those who haven’t read it yet. Basically, what we have here is a more mature and world weary Nazafareen. The character development is phenomenal and most importantly totally believable.

I cannot recommend this series enough! It really has it all: action, magic, mythology, romance, friendship….JUST READ IT! I promise you that you won’t regret it. ❤

giv

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 10 eBook copies of the The Midnight Sea! Good luck!

14 thoughts on “ARC Review + Giveaway | Blood of the Prophet by Kat Ross

  1. thanks so much, I am SO happy to know you liked it and especially that I found the right balance with the backstory! My eyes glaze over too when I get too much of that in a sequel, but then I also appreciate the little reminders of what happened since I tend to forget characters and entire plot points, lol, depending on how long the gap is between books. Anyway, thanks for the lovely review, day officially made!

    Liked by 1 person

    • WOOO! I’m really glad that you liked the review. I seriously have a countdown until the third book is released. Stumbling on this series kept me from falling into a reading slump and I just love when it when you accidentally find something so awesome. Thanks you! ❤

      Like

  2. Pingback: September Wrap Up! |

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour | Queen of Chaos by Kat Ross |

Leave a Reply

