ARC Review | A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

30376044
A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe
Release date: September 13th, 2016
Publisher: Another World Press
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

555335 copy 2

Goodreads | Amazon

Sora’s life was full of magic—until she discovered it was all a lie.

Heir to Mt. Fuji’s spirit kingdom, Sora yearns to finally take on the sacred kami duties. But just as she confronts her parents to make a plea, a ghostly army invades the mountain. Barely escaping with her life, Sora follows her mother’s last instructions to a heart-wrenching discovery: she is a human changeling, raised as a decoy while her parents’ true daughter remained safe but unaware in modern-day Tokyo. Her powers were only borrowed, never her own. Now, with the world’s natural cycles falling into chaos and the ghosts plotting an even more deadly assault, it falls on her to train the unprepared kami princess.

As Sora struggles with her emerging human weaknesses and the draw of an unanticipated ally with secrets of his own, she vows to keep fighting for her loved ones and the world they once protected. But for one mortal girl to make a difference in this desperate war between the spirits, she may have to give up the only home she’s ever known.

rew

This book was another impulse request on NetGalley because the cover is all kinds of gorgeous. The colours, the strong female wielding a katana and Mount Fuji in the background. YES!! And more YES!! I didn’t read what the book was actually about. So, I basically went into it blind, which turned out to be a good thing. I was constantly surprised and thoroughly entertained throughout.

titles copy 2

  • The story was original and this made it intriguing to read. I loved the blend of Japanese folklore with the modern world. I for sure wasn’t expecting it. The first few pages feature our heroine, Sora, watching over an modern elderly couple and I was like what?! But then everything clicked. It’s all very old meets new, which is an interesting combination. I also knew nothing of the kami and thanks to the book, I’m now really interested in learning more about these mythical spirits.
  • The lead character, Sora, was extremely well developed. You can’t help but identify with her. She went from being being secure with her place in the world only to have everything turned upside down. Nothing was as she thought it was and in turn she’s forced to explore who she really is. In my opinion, Sora handles it with grace and great strength. She goes through a multitude of emotions that all readers can relate to such as fear, self-pity, loyalty, etc.
  • It was fast paced and a definite page-turner! It has a bit of something for everyone: intense action, mythology, romance.
  • For a while it looked like a love triangle was going to happen. And let’s just say, I’m not a fan of them at all. However, I was so relieved when it fizzled out. All the power to Sora for quickly realizing how she felt and not leading someone on. I can’t stand it when characters do this. It annoys me beyond words!

titles

  • The ending was not what I was expecting. NOT AT ALL! After such a wild ride the ending felt anti-climatic. It was nothing more than a giant let down and that’s why I can’t rate it higher than a four. Everything in the story was leading to a giant showdown between our heroine and her friends versus the demon and his ghost army. But it ended up being wrapped up far too quickly and neatly for my liking. It needed more substance and detail to actually be satisfying.

This was the first book I’ve read by Megan Crewe but certainly not the last. I’m looking forward to getting into her previous releases very soon.

5 thoughts on “ARC Review | A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe

  1. I’d seen this book around for some time, but never really checked what it was about…until now! Oh God, I am sooo adding it to my tbr! I’m so glad to hear that you really enjoyed it! Now I can’t wait for it! I so need to read more books full of Japanese settings/people/mythology or anything really!

    Great review!
    L. @ Leeve Reads

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been eyeing this book for a while… It’s not expensive as it’s listed for I believe $.99. But I was unsure if I would like it because I’ve never read anything by the author. But because of your review, I’m going to give it a try!

    Thanks for the heads up! Excellent review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: September Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

