Review | The Dream Protocol by Adara Quick

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

30268886The Dream Protocol by Adara Quick
Release date: April 20th, 2016
Publisher: Adara Quick
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

555335 copy 3

Goodreads | Amazon

WHATEVER YOU DO, DON’T GET OLD.

In fiery young Deirdre Callaghan’s home of Skellig City, no one has dreamt their own dream in over a thousand years. Dreams are produced by the Dream Makers and sold by the Ministry, the tyrannical rulers of the city. In Skellig City, years of life are awarded equally and the ruined are cast away beneath the city on their 35th birthday.

Unbeknownst to the Ministry, Deirdre’s handsome friend Flynn Brennan is afflicted with a terrible disease – a disease that accelerates the aging process. Knowing his fate if the Ministry should ever discover his illness, Flynn has lived his whole life hiding from their watchful eyes. When Flynn’s secret is finally discovered, Deirdre is determined to free him from the Ministry’s grasp. But to save him, she will have to reveal herself to a shadowy enemy…one that none of them even knew existed.

rew

At first I didn’t like this book. I had such a hard time getting into it. Then again, I started it at the worst possible time. My brain was overloaded with planning for my new classes and this big event the school hosts every year. I really didn’t have the time to read, so it was very stop and go at the beginning. However, once I was actually able to dedicate time to this book I quite enjoyed it!

The concept of The Dream Protocol was what attracted me to it. I could totally see it being a movie or something. Basically, there is this underground world where people are enslaved by the government. They work during the day in their assigned professions and then use their hard earned money to purchase dreams, their only escape from their dreadful lives. To make matters worse, when you turn 35, you are cast aside and presumably killed.

The story is centred around Deirdre (a name I just love) who questions the rules of the oppressive government. What really drives her to this is her friendship with a young man named Flynn, who has some kind of ailment that makes him age faster than other teenagers. So, in a society where ageing is seen as bad, this is a major problem. There are so many things I want to say about the characters, but if I do, I’ll give away large chunks of the story and nobody wants that. Spoilers are horrible and I’m never going to do that. So, you just need to pick this book up!

Also, just look at the cover! It’s super pretty! You can’t help but be drawn into it because it raises so many questions. As a person who often picks up books because of their covers, I just had to read this.

While I loved the ideas, the story was too short for my liking. It’s about 152 pages and I needed more! Some plot lines seemed a bit rushed or wrapped up too nicely to save on time. I’m happy the author is publishing a sequel because there’s still so much that needs to be explored. Plus, it had a cliffhanger ending! But the ending did its job. I want to know more and am totally invested in finding out what happens in the next book.

4 thoughts on “Review | The Dream Protocol by Adara Quick

  1. Finally someone else reviewing this book! I really liked it also and that cliffhanger ending, omg. But I also struggled with this book a lot too. I felt like the writing was all over the place at times and the POVs were hard to distinguish. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: September Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

