Blogger Recognition Award

blogger-recognition-award.jpg

A BIG thank you to Beth at Reading Every Night for nominating me! I believe I’ve done this award before but it’s always fun to do it again. I’m so horrible at actually following up on awards. I leave a comment but then never really get around to doing them. This one I’m actually on top of so go me! Yay! 😛


Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

How the Blog Started:

I’ve wanted to start a book blog for quite some time, but I was afraid to actually start one. So, I lurked around other blogs and on Twitter before finally building up the courage to start Rattle the Stars. Then, Gina decided to come onboard and now we’ve been working on it together for around 6 months. I can’t believe it’s been that long!

Advice:

When I first started the blog I felt pressured to read quickly. So many others I saw on Twitter or Goodreads could go through so many books in a week. I was blown away. I’m not a quick reader, but I’m not that slow either. It really depends on how much I have on my plate in a particular week. It’s not about how much you read or how fast you read. Do what you can. It’s really about enjoying what your reading. If it’s an older book go for it! Is it super short? That’s awesome too! Read for yourself first and don’t worry about what others are doing.

My second piece of advice is that not every book you read needs to be reviewed. I will of course review books I get for review from NetGalley, but there are plenty I’ve read and haven’t reviewed. Sometimes I just want to read for myself. I do talk about these books on Twitter and sometimes post little updates of my progress on Goodreads, but there isn’t any pressure to take notes or do whatever to write a review.


My Nominations:

4 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Wow, I am completely in awe of how quickly you posted this after I tagged you! But I loved reading about how you started your blog, I feel it can be a little intimidating at first when you begin surrounded by all the bloggers who have been at it a lot longer but everyone is really nice. Also great advice as well, I feel I’ve started reading a little less now I’ve been writing and posting reviews for each book but I try and take that in my stride, everyone has different reading paces don’t they? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: September Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

