ARC Review | The Graces by Laure Eve

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

28818369The Graces by Laure Eve
Release date: September 6th, 2016
Publisher: Amulet Books
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

555335 copy 3

Goodreads | Amazon

In The Graces, the first rule of witchcraft states that if you want something badly enough, you can get it . . . no matter who has to pay.

Everyone loves the Graces. Fenrin, Thalia, and Summer Grace are captivating, wealthy, and glamorous. They’ve managed to cast a spell over not just their high school but also their entire town—and they’re rumored to have powerful connections all over the world. If you’re not in love with one of them, you want to be them. Especially River: the loner, new girl at school. She’s different from her peers, who both revere and fear the Grace family. She wants to be a Grace more than anything. And what the Graces don’t know is that River’s presence in town is no accident.

rew

This book was nothing like I though it would be. I kind of knew after reading the first two chapters that it wasn’t for me, but I ploughed on. I’m a trooper. I hate abandoning books. It will get better, just give it some time I told myself. Basically, this book really disappointed me. Ugh! I hate when this happens.

Nothing in The Graces really worked for me. The story went nowhere, the characters fell flat and it was utterly unbelievable. I went back and forth between rating it one or two stars, but in the end I decided to give two stars because it had so much potential. I could have been something good or even great, it’s just…it was so overwritten. Like it was trying too hard. It reminded me of Twilight, a series I cannot like no matter how many times I’ve tried to read it.

The story is narrated by River, a loner and outcast who wants nothing more than to be noticed by the Graces. Who are the Graces? They are three oh so beautiful human specimens that everyone obsesses over. Oh, and they might be witches. Queue the drama, spells, black magic and heartbreak that I should have cared about, but never really did. The characters were so obnoxious and incredibly shallow. Everything was about image. The entire first chapter was just a blow by blow on what the characters looked like and how they dressed! REALLY?!?!

I could have dealt with shallow characters, but the story doesn’t really go anywhere. Absolutely nothing of note happens in the first 3/4 of the book. Then there’s a “surprise twist” which wasn’t really a surprise because I was bored out of my mind. I just wanted the book to end. But when I got to the end surprise, surprise it was a cliffhanger. Ugh! The Graces is the first in a possible series, but I won’t be picking up the next instalment. It’s just not my cup of tea.

Reviews are mixed for The Graces on Goodreads. Have you read it yet? What were your thoughts? 

4 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Graces by Laure Eve

  1. Pingback: September Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

