Bookish Bingo: Summer Wrap Up

bookish-bingo1-1024x261

I haven’t posted much about this round of Bookish Bingo. But, now that August is over it’s time to wrap up my progress. What is Bookish Bingo? It’s a challenge hosted by Bekka at Pretty Deadly ReviewsThe point of Bookish Bingo is to get as many bingos as possible. The more bingos, the more giveaway entries. All types of books (fiction, non-fiction, novellas) count, but you can only have one square per book. Also, for a book to count, it must have been read between June 1st and August 31st.

My Progress (since my last post):

  • Outdoors: A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe primarily takes place outside around Mount Fuji. Am I grasping at straws? Perhaps.
  • Monsters: Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu & Sana Takeda literally has monster in the title. This was an amazing graphic novel. Dark with gorgeous illustrations. It’s a must read!
  • Mental Health: The Form of Things Unknown by Robin Bridges really got to me. I thought it handled living with schizophrenia in a real and honest way.
  • White Cover: Ok, so the cover for The Replacement Crush by Lisa Brown Roberts might actually be a really light pink, but on my iPad it was totally white. So….I’m going with that. 😛
  • Middle Grade: Snow White: A Graphic Novel by Matt Phelan is advertised as being middle grade but I honestly don’t see it. The tone is much darker than what I would have ever read at that age.
  • Name in Title: The Graces by Laure Eve is about, you guessed it, the Graces. This book fell flat for me. I was wishing for so much more.
  • Weather Words in Title: Before the Snow by Danielle Paige did it’s job. It got me even more excited for the release of Stealing Snow on September 20th!!
  • Folklore or Myths: I loved, loved, loved The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross! It’s a blend of Greek and Middle Eastern history, religion and mythology.
  • Political Intrigue: I wasn’t sure if this series could get better but then Blood of the Prophet by Kat Ross came around and wow! The sequel to The Midnight Sea was all about politics…who to trust and leaders plotting to take over the known world.
  • Water on Cover: The cover for The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine features an angry sea and fits the overall dark mood of the book.

Untitled.001

I was honestly hoping to do better this round. There are still a lot of square unfinished, but there’s always next time! Plus, I’ve been avoiding books from long series and anything over 500+ pages. My attention span just can’t do it right now. I’ve been sticking to books under 400 pages and ARCs that are either the first book in a series or a standalone.

Did you participate in Bookish Bingo? How did you do?

Leave a Reply

