Top Ten Tuesday

Untitled.001Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The topic this week is: Back to School! Well, I’ve been back to school teaching since the beginning of the month. I’ve moved from 7th to 9th grade and am trying to get used to the change in curriculum. There’s so much planning now! 😦 Anyway, here are some books that I had to read while in high school. Some I liked and others well, not so much. Here we go…

11356303

I really enjoyed studying Shakespeare in class and Macbeth will forever be my favourite. My teachers used to let us act it out. I remember always being one of the witches. Two years ago I had one of my classes write a modern version and it was hilarious!

5129

I just can’t even! This book was probably my LEAST favourite from high school. The ending…I don’t even know what happened. I just remember spending the last few weeks of the novel study zoning out and imagining I was somewhere else.

490243

I think all Canadian higher schoolers or at least those from Ontario had to read this book. Is it bad that I vaguely remember reading it? It’s a Canadian classic but not a book that stood out for me.

11713

I read this book in grade 10 and totally didn’t appreciate it. I think we were too young and immature. I reread it a few years later in university and fell in love with Michael Ondaatje’s writing. It’s so beautiful!

3636

Another book that I didn’t give enough love to until these past few years. I taught a unit on it in my 7th grade English class and saw it in a completely different light. Let’s just forget that the movie was ever made though.

6193662

Nope, nope, NOPE! This book disturbed me in so many different ways. I didn’t like it but I do totally understand why it’s taught in school. There are so many lessons and discussions that can come from it.

What books did you read in school? Have you read any of these? Thoughts? Comments? 

 

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I’ve read The Giver for school too and actually have it on my list this week! Like you, when I first read it I wasn’t too sure about it but reading it as an adult made me realise just how special it was.

    The movie though… the only thing that left was an impression was Taylor Swift because god damn she’s Taylor Swift playing Taylor Swift in a movie, haha. Did NOT see her as Rosemary at all.

    Here’s my TTT. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, Lord of the Flies. At the time I wasn’t sure if it was the book or the teacher that didn’t work for me, but I think it was definitely the book!

    Hope your school year is off to a great start!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We read Lord of the Flies as 10th graders which looking back is crazy to me. I still laugh about the fact that our teacher made us reenact scenes for all books that were harder to understand or more important. This led to a bunch of 15 year olds pretending to spear one another and there is no way that would be allowed today, I’m also now still laughing at that memory.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

