ARC Review | Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

cover85322-mediumLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova
Release date: September 6th, 2016
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Goodreads | Amazon

Hearts.001

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

rew

I had high expectations for this book and it didn’t disappoint. Not one bit! I LOVED IT SO, SO MUCH…OMG!! *deep breaths* I fell in love with its colourful characters and Latin American inspired magic. Everything about it was so unique and unlike anything I’ve read before.

The book is about Alex, a bruja or witch, who has been given special powers that others seeing as a blessing, but she sees as a curse. To strengthen her powers, her family holds a Deathday ceremony, but Alex has other ideas. She tries to cast a canto or spell that would rid her of her powers. However, the canto backfires and instead her entire family are sent to Los Lagos, a magical realm with monsters and soul-filled rivers. Alex enlists the help of a brujo named Nova *sigh* to help guide her through Los Lagos to rescue her family.

titles copy 2

  • DIVERSITY and lots of it!
  • The WELL DEVELOPED characters that you can’t help but love to pieces.
  • NOVA and his cocky behaviour…enough said!
  • The fantastic WORLD BUILDING.
  • It has a BISEXUAL LOVE TRIANGLE. I haven’t seen that before so it’s super different.
  • The MAIN CHARACTER IS BISEXUAL but it’s not done for shock and awe. It’s handled naturally and extremely well.
  • Very cool magic. So much magic. YES! YES! YES!
  • Just look at the cover! STUNNING I know!
  • It has a PLOT TWIST ending!
  • The PACE is fast. You just want to keep reading on and on.

Basically, I loved everything. I’m at a loss for words when trying to write this review. This is probably the first time ever that I’ve written a review right after finishing a book. All I can say is that this book made me insanely happy. I wanted to see what would happen but was so sad when it ended. Can I have the sequel like now please?

8 thoughts on “ARC Review | Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

  1. Pingback: August Wrap Up! |

  2. Pingback: Labyrinth Lost: Spotlight + Giveaway! |

Leave a Reply

