Review | The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross

I received this book for free from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

29670787The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross
Release date: March 26th, 2016
Publisher: Acorn Publishing
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Xpresso Book Tours

Untitled 2.001

Goodreads | Amazon

 They are the light against the darkness. The steel against the necromancy of the Druj. And they use demons to hunt demons….

Nazafareen lives for revenge. A girl of the isolated Four-Legs Clan, all she knows about the King’s elite Water Dogs is that they leash wicked creatures called daevas to protect the empire from the Undead. But when scouts arrive to recruit young people with the gift, she leaps at the chance to join their ranks. To hunt the monsters that killed her sister.

Scarred by grief, she’s willing to pay any price, even if it requires linking with a daeva named Darius. Human in body, he’s possessed of a terrifying power, one that Nazafareen controls. But the golden cuffs that join them have an unwanted side effect. Each experiences the other’s emotions, and human and daeva start to grow dangerously close.

As they pursue a deadly foe across the arid waste of the Great Salt Plain to the glittering capital of Persepolae, unearthing the secrets of Darius’s past along the way, Nazafareen is forced to question his slavery—and her own loyalty to the empire. But with an ancient evil stirring in the north, and a young conqueror sweeping in from the west, the fate of an entire civilization may be at stake….

rew

I can’t believe it took me this long to actually read this book! I participated in the promotional blitz for it, thought it sounded incredibly interesting and then just never got around to purchasing it. It was a total fail on my part because The Midnight Sea was AMAZING!

The story is a blend of so many things: Greek and Middle Eastern history, religion, mythology, magic, monsters…I could go on. It’s such a brilliant mixture of so many things and yet completely unique and original.

Kat Ross is a fantastic storyteller. I was captivated by the story from the first page. It’s non-stop and relentless. There’s never a dull moment, which is how I like my books. The world building was believable. I felt like I was right there with the characters – freezing in the snowy mountains, being choked by a sandstorm, fighting for my life against the undead.

Then there were the characters, which were well rounded and fully formed. The main character, Nazafareen, wasn’t your run-of-the-mill YA heroine. I’m so over the always complaining, annoying, ungrateful female characters seen in a lot of popular YA fantasy books. I just can’t do it. Nazafareen was the complete opposite! I JUST LOVED HER TO BITS! She works hard, is very likeable and extremely empathic. This is what made me adore her. One of the central elements of the story is slavery. In Nazafareen’s world, human-like mythical beings called daēvas are enslaved to act as soldiers to fight against evil beings called the Druj. She always treats the daēvas well, but as the story develops, Nazafareen questions their enslavement.

A major contributing factor to her questioning her people’s treatment of the daēvas is her relationship with her daēva, Darius. It’s a one that starts off a bit rocky and slowly grows into a romance that had my heart all over the place. So many ups and downs! Will they? Won’t they? The best part? There wasn’t even a hint of insta-love or a love triangle, both of which I dislike with an intense passion. Their relationship was seriously a breath of fresh air.

I can’t write too much without giving away the whole story. It’s so complex and I find you just need to read it to properly understand it. There are so many surprises and twists you just don’t see coming. *Deep breath* You just NEED to read it.

The second book in the series, Blood of the Prophet, is scheduled to be released on September 12th. After reading The Midnight Sea all I can say is that I’m not waiting months before reading it. It’s going straight to the top of my TBR because I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!

11 thoughts on “Review | The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross

  1. Pingback: ARC August Update! |

  2. Pingback: ARC August Update 2! |

  3. Pingback: ARC August Update 3! |

  4. Pingback: August Wrap Up! |

  5. Pingback: ARC Review + Giveaway | Blood of the Prophet by Kat Ross |

  6. Pingback: Blog Tour | Queen of Chaos by Kat Ross |

Leave a Reply

