Top Ten Tuesday

Untitled.001Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The topic this week is: Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them.

I’ve taken this week’s topic and have narrowed it down to books that peaked my interest in a certain historical topic or time period. I love history. I’m a proud history nerd and love a good piece of historical fiction. In university, I focused mainly on German history but also dabbled in ancient Egypt and Islamic history. Thanks to some great books, I’ve expanded my knowledge and these are the books that drove me to do it. 🙂

What historical time periods/topics do you enjoy reading about? Have you read any of these books?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Love this idea of topic! I too am a history nerd, and so alot of the books on my list interested me in a historical period, but unfortunately I have yet to read any of the books on your list, and so hopefully I can check some of them out soon especially as they include a bit of history!

    Heres my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love historical books or books that I feel I’m picking up something more. I love the Tudor period – such a lot going on of course. I’ve recently read a few fantasy novels that were set during the Roman empire. And, I loved the Geisha book.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Tudor period is one of my favourites as well!!! So much drama. I can’t get enough of Philippa Gregory’s books. Last year I read a what if Anne Boleyn hadn’t died kind of series which was pretty cool. She had a surviving son who became king. I think it was called the Boleyn King.

      Like

      • The Gregory books are great – amazingly they’ve made me remember more about the period than my history lessons at school! The Boleyn King sounds very interesting. will have to go and check that out.
        Lynn 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your way of doing this week’s TTT! I’m also a history nerd, so I tend to googled the period before I read the book! Reading Memoirs of Geisha definitely made me googled a lot more about the geisha life!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. And I Darken and The Historian are such good choices! It’s been ages since I’ve read The Historian, so it would be fun to re-read it. And I’ve wanted to read Hild for a while, but I never seem to get around to it. I love history, so I’ll definitely be checking out the books on your list that I haven’t read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

