Review | My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

22840421My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows
Release date: June 7th, 2016
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: Young adult, historical fiction, fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Source:  Uppercase Box

4-5-stars

Goodreads | Amazon

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

cluds

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 8.50.56 PM

At the beginning, I was a little reluctant to read this book, since I originally thought that it could include history (a subject that I like, but not in books). After finishing my last book, I decided to give it a try and the very first chapters were a catch for me.

So this book is about history in an alternate scenario. It begins with the Tudors and their reign during the era in which Catholics and Protestants were at war. Edward VI has become ill with the “Affliction” a deadly disease during that time and his more trusted advisor Lord John Dudley has recommended he prepared the line of succession for the crown.

The book is divided into 2 parts; the first one is very much alike the “official” history we know, while the second one has a switch. The authors added some magical and fictitious things that made it quite amusing, interesting and funny at the same time. The main character JANE GREY is a book lover and just loses herself to read all the time, even during social events.  All of sudden she is set up to marry a stranger she has never seen, but since she cares so much for her cousin The King, she accepts it.

The story has comical and funny parts, I laughed out loud so much, and I almost devour this book!!!! After finishing some chapters I would literally hold it to my chest because I really liked it!  It was as if I waited for my reading time every day so I could see and read what was Jane up to !

In the story, the conflict between Catholics and Protestants is illustrated in a magical and fantastic way. Verities vs Edians. Verities are normal people that believe that they should be the only beings with rights and privileges, while the Edians are people who have the “gift” to change to an animal when wanted or needed. So this part,  was like: HOLY MOLLY, THIS IS GETTING BETTER!!!!

This book has everything I like: MAGIC, ROMANCE, ACTION, DETAILS and now… HISTORY!

giphy (9)

My favorite character after JANE, was Gifford Dudley, her husband. You will see why!!!!!!!!

The reading was enjoyable, easy , quick and amazing! Seriously, I did not even think I would like this type of book so much! Now I think I should have read it a long time ago!!!!!!

If  you have read similar books, please recommend me some!!

giphy (10).gif

img_0988

10 thoughts on “Review | My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

  1. Great review, I got this book in my Owl Crate box last month and ever since then everyone on WordPress seems to have read it and everyone seems to love it as well. I’m really glad you enjoyed this book, history books aren’t really my thing either. Historical fiction is the genre I’ve picked up the least; but fantasy, magic and humour are all things I love and it sounds like this book has those in spades! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

