Top Ten Tuesday

Untitled.001Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The topic this week is: Ten Books Set Outside The US.

I skipped last week’s TTT because I didn’t remember to post until the last minute and then saw the topic and didn’t bother. I’m so bad at talking about myself and I feel like I’ve done a lot of top ten facts about me posts as of late. Almost every tag or blog award includes it. Also, I’m not that interesting…like really! 😛

Besides fantasy worlds, I don’t read a lot of books set in the US. Here are some of my favourite novels that take place around the world:

1. Except the Dying by Maureen Jennings is the first book in my favourite detective series, Murdoch Mysteries. Its set in 1890s Toronto and focuses on the murder of a young servant. There’s also a fantastic TV series that I can’t get enough of!

2. Chris Bohjalian is such a talented author! The Light in the Ruins takes place during two time periods: 1943 and 1955. It explores how a Florentine family was affected by the Nazi occupation of Italy during World War II. I cried a lot while reading this book. It’s completely gut wrenching.

3. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein was the followup to Code Name Verity. I highly recommend both books, but Rose Under Fire takes readers into Ravensbrück, a Nazi concentration camp. Wein knows how to mix pure emotion with historic facts. Again, another book I cried during. I swear this is not going to be a theme.

4. I adore historical fiction, so that’s why there seems to be a lot of it on this list. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is also set during WWII in France. It features a young woman who risks her life to save the lives of Allied soldiers.

5. I recently finished Michelle Moran’s latest book Mata Hari’s Last Dance. I had heard of Mata Hari before, but it was always one sided. There’s so much more to this character than meets the eye.

6. And I Darken by Kiersten White primarily takes place in the Ottoman Empire and is a super cool reimagining of Vlad the Impaler. This. Book. Kicks. Butt. Seriously…read it!

7. I will always love Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Jaime. Claire. *swoon* It just fuels my obsession with Scotland and makes my heart ache.

8. Mubarak’s Egypt is the focus of Chronicle of a Last Summer by Yasmine El Rashidi. I randomly requested this book on NetGalley and was blown away by its honestly and pure emotion.

9. I taught A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park in my English classes this past school year. Told through two points of view, it’s about the Sudan Civil War in the 1980s/90s. Yeah, it’s a middle grade book, but it’s written in such a way that you become so emotionally connected to the characters that you can’t put it down.

10. Every Falling Star by Sungju Lee stood out to me because it’s was the first book I’ve ever read about life inside of a North Korea. It was such an emotional rollercoaster. I highly recommend it!

Have you read any of these books? Any books to suggest? ❤

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I’ve read Every Falling Star and Outlander and I really liked them. You might heard it before, but I highly recommend The Book Thief. It’s set in WW2 Germany and it’s just so beautiful<3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am SUPER excited to see Every Falling Star on this list! I’ve read it too and absolutely loved it – the fact that it’s a true story made it even more amazing to me (and also devastating because tbh it’s kind of depressing to think that these things are still happening). I really hope it gets more popular closer to the release date – it’s a story that deserves to be heard.

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed! It’s great to find someone else who has read it. We usually just hear all the bad stuff about North Korea on the news, but never focus on the actual people who are actually living through it all.

      Like

  3. Oh gosh there’s quite a few books there that I’ve been meaning to get around to! I really want to read The Nightingale and Outlander AND And I Darken!! So many books, so little time 😩

    Like

Leave a Reply

