ARC Review | Nemesis by Anna Banks

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

27414431

Nemesis by Anna Banks
Release date: October 4th, 2016
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Genre: Young adult
Format: Paperback
Source: Author and Publisher

Goodreads | Amazon

Untitled 2.001

The princess didn’t expect to fall in love–with her nemesis.

Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee from his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift could save Tarik’s kingdom from the Quiet Plague. But should she trust her growing feelings for her nemesis, or should she hide her gifts at all costs?

Painted_Border-50

First of all….. I DO like the cover, I have read so many bad reviews about the cover. I think it is not really CUTE but it has something that makes me want to read the book, not only because the colors FOR ME are so appealing, that is a PLUS, I liked how “Nemesis” sounds. Anyway I read lots of negative things about the cover from people who haven’t even read the book. PLEASE GIVE IT A TRY you won’t regret it!

How did I get this book?

I emailed the publisher and author for a copy because NETGALLEY rejected my request and I was fortunately granted with it!  This is my first physical ARC !!! Woohoo!!!!

I have to confess that I was very, very excited to receive this book, and was not disappointed. I took around 6 days to read it but that is because every time I am near the end of the book I tend to slow down… I don’t know why  I do this, I guess I just want to delay the inevitable, and I just realized that I do this with books I love and enjoy!

The story line is amazing! Anna Banks did a great job explaining and describing the world Sepora lives in. There are 5 kingdoms and each has their own traditions and ways of living. Sepora, the main character belongs to Serubel, she is the princess and carries a gift within her hands. Trading is something really important for the 5 kingdoms. Serubel owns people who forge a substance called Spectorium. Spectorium is a valuable element, necessary for many things since it has lots of power. Theoria, another kingdom has been stricken with a plague and their king is now dead. His son took the throne and has the responsibility to save his people.

Sepora, runs aways from Serubel and is captured and sold in a bazaar. Without planning it, Sepora is now face to face with Tarik, The Falcon King of Theoria. Sepora now has to decide it she is to trust him with her gift or lie and hide her feelings too!

There is romantic tension between characters.

The pace is good and I believe this first book HAD to have all the descriptions and explanations possible for the second book to be more AMAZING!

I was both, thrilled and kind of frustrated with several parts!!!!! Thrilled because there are some scenes that are just lovely, and frustrated because as I read it, I wanted Sepora to do some things differently! And I  was shocked with other and went literally like the .gif below!!!!!!!

giphy (8)

Personally, I love Sepora, and this is something that rarely happens. She is authentic and clever!

Her quest and plan are just so fair and just. This is the kind of story I like!!!!! She wants peace between the kingdoms and is willing to do anything to achieve that. Her father mistreated her and she left her home to look for better. She did not even think about the idea of falling in love! YES!!!!!!!! ROMANCE is present!!!!

Her way of thinking is just so transparent and beautiful. And I have to admit that this book somehow reminds me of Red Queen, just a little bit!, mainly because of the romantic tension between the characters.

I honestly wanted to read more!!!! I wanted MORE STORY. However, this was an amazing start!

I will definitely read book #2!

giphy (7).gif

img_0988

9 thoughts on “ARC Review | Nemesis by Anna Banks

  1. I’m so glad that you liked the book. I thought about requesting it but then decided not to. I personally don’t like the cover. *hides* But for me it’s mostly due to the fact that I’m not into actual people looking out at me. It kind of freaks me out hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m on the fence about the cover. I usually hate when there are people in covers, but this one is also very eye catching, so I don’t really know how to feel about it!
    Sounds like an interesting book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: July Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

