Top Ten Tuesday

Untitled.001Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The topic this week is: Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads.

It was interesting to see which books have low ratings on Goodreads. Mind you, some of these were recently released and are still being discovered, but I have enjoyed all of these. What I want to know is how much do ratings on Goodreads or even reviews affect your choice to read a particular book? For me, not that much. I think the only time I’ve been turned off of a book was when I was reading the reviews for Captive Prince. It just sounded like something I would not enjoy at all! Anyway, here are some of the books that I loved, but have less than 2000 ratings on Goodreads:

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I don’t look at Goodreads before I buy or picking out from the library, but I like to look when I’m starting to read my book, for the comments and other people reactions to this book. I find that very interesting. 🙂
    p.s. I tagged you on my last tag, hehe. c’:

    Like

  2. Goodreads doesn’t affect me too much, but the reviews on Amazon on do. How strange is that?:) I find that Goodreads is more people discussing their favorite moment or character while Amazon critiques more. Sometimes Amazon turns me off a book and I regret it after I finally pick it up lol

    Like

  3. It admit that it hurts my soul a little bit that you don’t want to read Captive Prince as it is my favorite series (though, let’s be honest, I know it’s not for everyone by any means so when people say they don’t think they’d like it or they’ve read it and don’t like it, it doesn’t surprise me).

    But anyway! Goodreads reviews and ratings don’t affect me too much. There have been some books that have had amazing ratings that I didn’t like and some books that have had meh ratings that I loved. People have different taste, so no matter how good a book’s rating, you can’t always know!

    Like

  4. I have A Fierce and Subtle Poison on my list for this week as well. I wouldn’t say I was surpised by how it had under 2000 ratings on Goodreads but I do think it deserves more, it’s such an amazing book and I really love the setting as well. 😀
    I have Da Vinci’s Tiger on my to-read list as well, it’s not my usual genre but one day I’ll get around to it! Great picks for this week! 😀

    Like

  5. I loved A Fierce and Subtle Poison sooo much!! It’s been one of my favourite reads of the year so far. Goodreads ratings and reviews don’t really affect whether or not I want to read a book. I’m always way too curious and have to experience it for myself, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

