Top Ten Tuesday

Untitled.001Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The theme this week is: Reasons Why I Love…all things Jane Austen. 

 

tumblr_nq0xjirAnN1s8944go1_500

  • First, Jane Austen was a total rebel for her time. Women were expected to be married and take care of the running of the home. Austen refused to settle and instead remained unmarried. Writing was also seen as “unladylike” but again, she continued to publish her work.
  • It’s like traveling back in time! You are fully immersed in Regency era England and the best part? You really get to peak into the world of women – how they lived, dressed, what they gossiped about. I definitely wouldn’t want to be a woman at that time though. Society was too limiting and structured with men still making all of the decisions.

large

  • In a way, Austen’s novels were a critique of society at the time. Her books were some of the first to suggest women marry for love and not wealth or social standing. She also frequently highlighted the differences between the social classes.
  • The women in Austen’s novels are realistic and NOT one dimensional. Her heroines are never “perfect”, which I find quite refreshing. For example, Elizabeth Bennet is feisty and intelligent, but she’s closed to what’s around her. She simply only sees what she wants to see in people and this makes her form opinions too quickly.

tumblr_nix9cd9m9C1qijnxzo1_r1_500

  • Another point about her female characters. Austen’s characters were opinionated, well educated, and witty. This wasn’t how female characters were usually written at the time. She also talked about a major issue that affected women at the time: how they couldn’t inherit wealth. This is especially highlighted in Pride and Prejudice. The Bennet sisters are told they will be kicked out of their home when their father dies because the property would go to their male cousin.
  • Her books always have a happy ending. It just warms my heart when the heroine after going through so much finally gets her man at the end and they live happily ever after. *sigh*
  • Her books created swoon worthy male characters such as Mr Darcy and Captain Wentworth. Enough said!

giphy

  • The woman could write! Her books are even more popular now than they were at the time they were written. That says a lot because they have stood the test of time. She can do witty, tenderness, emotional…just read Persuasion and you’ll understand.
  • Jane Austen’s novels and their enduring popularity have spawned several fantastic sequels, reimaginings and parodies such as A Death Comes to Pemberley and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

tumblr_nw47s4fEA21rrzmi2o2_r1_540

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great List. I absolutely love that her female characters were strong and witty and complex but could still have swoon-worthy romances. I still haven’t seen Pride & Prejudice & Zombies and I really need to get on that lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choice for this week’s top ten! I love this list and now I really want to re-read Pride and Prejudice! And watch Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, because I still haven’t seen it and I ram really curious to see it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve only read Pride and Prejudice and I totally understand it. It’s one of my favorite books. The writing, the characters, the plot…AMAZING. I have to pick other Jane Austen books, but I’m afraid I won’t like them as much and be disappointed, what do you say? Which should I pick next?
    Great list ❤

    Like

  4. Oh my God, I agree with everything on this list! I love how Jane herself refuse to follow the society, and instead write books to get her points across. And I love how we feels like we’re transported to regency era while reading her books. And Mr. Darcy<33 Really amazing list!

    Like

  5. I love her. The only non-SciFi/Fantasy book I’ve reviewed on my blog was a JA retelling. In addition to her (way too small) body of work, she continues to be responsible for some of the best novels in the form of well-written retellings.

    My TTT list

    Like

Leave a Reply

