Review | The Crown by Kiera Cass

26074181The Crown by Kiera Cass
Release date: May 3rd, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Romance
Format: Hardcover
Source: Amazon

stars.001 copy

Goodreads | Amazon

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined

images_0017_Garlands 028

Before I start, I just want to say that I really disliked The Heir. It didn’t live up to my expectations and was a complete disappointment. I’ve complained about The Selection series in the past (which I won’t get into here), but I eagerly read the three original books from the series and sighed and smiled at the sugary sweet romance. These books have been a HUGE guilty pleasure of mine and when I found out there would be a fourth book I couldn’t wait. Well, The Heir came and it was such a let down. So, I went into The Crown hoping…no praying…it wouldn’t be another dud. Thankfully it wasn’t! What a relief!!!

My main issue with The Heir was Eadlyn. How could she be the daughter of American and Maxon?! She was bratty and spoiled beyond belief. What was the author thinking? I just couldn’t like her. She had no redeeming characteristics. In The Crown it’s like she’s a completely different person and I’m so thankful. In this book, Eadlyn has matured and now puts others ahead of herself. I was rooting for her and learned to care a lot about this character, something I couldn’t have imagined in The Heir.

I’m also beyond happy with who Eadlyn ended up with. I won’t say anything because spoilers are horrible, but eeeeeeeee!!!! I knew it!! Actually, it was kind of predictable but it still made me so happy.

There also isn’t a complete focus on Eadlyn and her Selection. We also get to learn more about America and Maxon. They are just the most wonderful couple ever! So cute and absolutely devoted to each other. It was a relief that their marriage remained happy and unnecessary strife wasn’t added to create drama. Their happy ending was wonderful to read about.

All in all, it was a perfect way to end the series. It was a quick and super fun read. I didn’t like it as much as the original trilogy, but it did exactly what it was supposed to do. It made me swoon and smile a lot. If you liked the other books in the series, this book is definitely for you!

5 thoughts on “Review | The Crown by Kiera Cass

  1. I felt like she did a complete shift into a new person as well but I was really happy with her change from her first book. I also think these novels are just a nice quick read that is a guilty pleasure. They aren’t amazing but they are super adorable and I liked where this one went.
    Thanks for a great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

