Review | The Broken One by Christine H. Bailey

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

29601936The Broken One by Christine H. Bailey
Release date: April 30th, 2016
Publisher: Vinspire Publishing
Genres: Young Adult
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Goodreads | Amazon

stars.001

Sixteen-year-old Farris is picking up the pieces after the untimely death of her best friend. But even one year later, she can’t seem to find “normal” again—not until Lane Evans pops back into her life and pushes her to face reality. When he offers her the chance to find the truth, Farris fears what will surface. Is it too much too soon or just what she needs to move forward?

images_0018_Garlands 027

As you may know, my reading slump has been really upsetting me these past few weeks. Either what I read doesn’t interest me or it just takes forever to get through. This book I hope has ended the dreaded slump! I loved it! It was everything I needed: quick to get through and a main character that I actually cared about.

Farris, the protagonist, has a lot to deal with. The book begins with her best friend Kelsey’s death being declared a murder and how a year later, Farris still hasn’t come to terms with the tragic event. She’s pushed people away and has essentially become a social outcast. I really connected with Farris and the author’s writing style enabled me to feel all of her pain and frustration. I honestly don’t know what I would have done if I was in her shoes. How do you get over something so tragic? Kelsey’s death haunts Farris because even after so much time has passed she doesn’t know why it happened. Farris basically destroys everything around her to try to find a sense of closure. But she’s not this doom and gloom character…there’s so much more to Farris. Throughout the story she really makes a lot of progress and you can see how she changes. Yes, the story is short, but the character growth felt real and organic.

The story was told from Farris’ point of view and sometimes this can be tricky. The author’s writing is completely believable from start to finish. It sounded like a real teenager and Farris’ actions (either her making snap decision, being overly emotional or confused) reminded me of how I handled difficult situations as a teenager.

My only issue with the book was that a lot of things were not resolved. I understand the author not explaining why Kelsey died. I did kind of like that we didn’t learn because it teaches a good lesson – not everything in life is easily resolved. People do things for reasons that we may never understand. Reality is harsh and books should reflect this. Not everything needs a perfect ending. That said, I still really want to know what happened. There was such a build up to it and then…nothing. I’m conflicted about not knowing, but that doesn’t really take away from how much I actually enjoyed this book.

sig.001

One thought on “Review | The Broken One by Christine H. Bailey

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: The Broken One by Christine H. Bailey (Guest Post) |

Leave a Reply

