ARC Review | A Quarrel Called by Shannon Wendtland

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

cover86409-medium.png

A Quarrel Called by Shannon Wendtland
Expected Publication date:  June 20th, 2016
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Publisher: A Crossed Arrows Title
Format: eBook (Kindle)
Source: NetGalley

Goodreads | Amazon

stars.001 copy

The Sage, The Guardian, The Lantern, The Light – together we four are Stewards of the Plane, a Quarrel.

G. is the Guardian; he’s developed a strong protective instinct and a kickass sword of light that can chase away the baddies like nobody’s business.

Sam is the Lantern; his dreams shed light on possible futures – he’s always had dreams, but now he sees where we’re going and how far, and it scares the crap out of him.

Tara is the Sage; as our resident mystic, she can commune with the Akashic records: the big data warehouse in the sky. She can get information on anywhere, anywhen, if only she can learn to ask the right questions.

And me, I’m Melody, I’m the Light. I can channel the earth’s energy and according to Gramps, I can stabilize a vortex. It’s a good thing, too, or else we would be in a lot of trouble.

Before the summer started, we were a bunch of normal teenagers getting ready for our senior year in high school. By the time summer was over, we’d fought and won battles, lost friends and saved the world (except for that time when we made it worse).

This is our story. We wrote it all down; that way when it happens to you, when you’re called to be a Steward of the Plane – a member of a quarrel, you’ll know what to do.

**This book is told in first person from four alternating character viewpoints.

images_0015_Garlands 030

OH YES!

Ok, well, there were a couple of things I liked about this book. The cover, to start with, also, the theme: paranormal and all the ghost and supernatural stuff. The first chapter got me really fast and I definitely decided to continue reading. The story is truly about friendship and how they faced multiple challenges. Melody is the main character and lost her brother but nobody really knows what happened to him. Tara is her best friend and is into paranormal and spiritual things. I do think that Tara is the best character! Then, there is Sam, who secretly has a crush on Melody and G., a new boy in town that knows Melody from school. These 4 start a quest to find what happened to Mathew, Melody’s brother and they discover they all have different powers and abilities.

I have to say that there are moments of interest, but in general the story is developed very slowly. I wish there weren’t so many hidden things, that could’ve made it much more interesting and engaging.

OH NO!

This book looks like a movie script. Somehow I could relate it to a movie! I did not like the slow plot. It took forever to actually see what was going on, and I got confused with the multiple character’s perspective thing. At some point I was annoyed about Melody. Really, she pissed me off, she became a sort of “victim” at half story and I could not stand her. Also, I think the author was trying to keep the reader interested by not showing everything at once, but that made ir rush at the end. The ending is not good and it looks like Shannon wanted to get done with the story.

Anyway, this is just my opinion!

So sorry!!!!!! But this month I’ve had a hard time reading!!!!! I am catching up now, hopefully I will be posting soon since I’m getting used to the pace!

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 12.45.25 PM

2 thoughts on “ARC Review | A Quarrel Called by Shannon Wendtland

  1. I was initially drawn in by this cover, but I am glad I didn’t request it after seeing your review. I really have issues getting into slower plots. Thanks for the honest post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

