Book Traveling Thursdays

yyyyyyyBook Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme created by Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @Danielle’s Book Blog. To Find out more, join the Goodreads group.

Topic: Everyone needs a companion. Choose your favorite bookish pet. 

Growing up, Time Cat by Lloyd Alexander was one of my favourite books. It featured all of my favourite things: cats, history, time travel and fantasy. Basically, a young boy named Jason has his life turned upside when his talking cat Gareth takes him on nine amazing adventures through time. What I didn’t realize until now was how old this book actually is! I thought it was published in the early 1990s, but nope, it originally was released in 1963!!  Ok, now to the covers…

Original Book Cover + Cover From My Country:

822630

This was the cover on the book I purchased from a Scholastic book fair in elementary school. Does anyone remember those? You would get the catalog, beg your parents for tons of books, complete the order form and boom! The book fair would arrive and it was seriously the best week ever! So many new books!! Do they still do those?

Favourite Covers:

Besides the cover I am most familiar with, I really liked the US paperback cover from 2012. I love the how it’s bold and the colours match perfectly.

Least Favourite Covers:

This first cover on the left is from the 1985 paperback release. Maybe it was a good idea then, but for me now, it looks dated and not appealing at all. The cover on the right is from 2003. It’s more recent, but why does everyone look so confused? Terrified? I don’t know, but the colouring and strange image choices would not entice me to purchase this book.

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays

  1. Yes I used to love these scholastic book fairs in my school! And yep, they still do those. My younger sister is in third grade right now and every time they have these book fairs, she comes home with the catalog and we sit down and decide the books to buy 😛
    Good ol’ days!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

