ARC Review | The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

25639296The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
Release date: April 19th, 2016
Publisher: Delacorte
Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & Noble | Book Depository

stars.001

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

images_0018_Garlands 027

The Darkest Corners was so intense and absolutely brilliant! The story revolves around the complex relationship between Callie and Tessa. Once close like sisters, the girls have not spoken since they witnessed the kidnapping of Callie’s cousin who was later found dead. Just another victim of the “Ohio River Monster” Wyatt Stokes, who is sitting on death row. Now, ten years later, the girls are forced to revaluate what they saw that day when another victim is found.

Besides the mystery, what really made this book stand out for me were the characters. Tessa and Callie aren’t likable characters, but they felt real. Both had their demons and dealt with them in their own ways. Tessa’s entire life fell apart after the murder trial and returning to Fayette took a lot of courage. She knew returning would cause her to feel a lot of pain and suffering. Callie felt guilty for what happened to her cousin. Instead of trying to heal she drank and partied as hard as she could to forget. I liked how these girls weren’t perfect, but they were honest. They knew they were hurting and how they dealt with their pain seemed realistic. Also, I was relieved when the author didn’t try to make the girls instant best friends again after being apart for ten years. Their relationship, awkward and strained, was believable.

The depth of the story blew me away! The details – there were so many! By the conclusion, I felt like I knew the town, like really knew it. This was used to great effect by the author to always keep the reader guessing. Everyone had secrets and new characters were introduced throughout to keep you on your toes.

I really enjoyed this book. I usually don’t read novels from the mystery or thriller genres, but I am very pleased with this find. From the first page to the last I was completely engrossed in the story. It’s a slow burner that takes its time, slowly revealing answers and then twisting and turning so you are never sure what to believe. I was constantly left guessing what would happen next. And the ending – no spoilers – was not what I expected at all! Reading it gave me butterflies, it was that well done!

sig.001

7 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

  1. After reading your review, I wish I would’ve hung in there. I also received an ARC from NetGalley, but I was having trouble with the pacing, so I DNF. I’m wondering now if I should take another look. I was about 30% in when I stopped reading. Nice review!

    Like

  2. Great review I have also been hearing amazing things about this book, and I absolutely love mystery and thriller books. I don’t read a lot of them but I do love reading them. This one really looks and sounds totally fantastic and right up my alley! Thank you for your awesome post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

