OwlCrate + Uppercase Boxes

Untitled.001

I’ve been on vacation and totally forgot to post about my March OwlCrate and Uppercase subscription boxes! Better late than never right?

For those of you unfamiliar with OwlCrate, it is a monthly YA subscription box that features a newly released book as well as 3-4 bookish items that are set around a theme. The theme for March was “Writer’s Block”. This is what the box contained:

  • A custom pack of bookish pins by Bookworm Boutique.
  • Black and white Banned Book Socks from Out of Print Clothing.
  • A 642 Tiny Things to Write About notebook from Chronicle Books. Some of the writing prompts are pretty awesome. I can totally see myself using them in my classroom.
  • A white, Harry Potter inspired quill pen from Kikkerland. I believe other colours were also shipped as well?
  • A hardcover copy of The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner (including a quote print and author postcard).

I hadn’t heard of this book before. It’s also not in the genre I usually read. The description sounds alright. To be honest, I won’t be rushing to read this book anytime soon. I’m not sure how I feel about OwlCrate’s book selections so far. I enjoyed Da Vinci’s Tiger from the December box, but since then have been pretty indifferent about the books I have received.

IMG_0408

Uppercase is also a young adult book-of-the-month subscription box. You receive a recently published YA novel and some additional book-related items. This month the box (or cloth bag) contained:

THIS BOOK! I have been so super excited about Rebel of the Sands. First, the cover. Gorgeous! Second, the plot. It’s a mixture of the Wild West meets the Middle East. There’s mythical creatures, a prince, gun battles…it all sounds wonderful to me. I can’t wait to read it!

IMG_0440

 

8 thoughts on “OwlCrate + Uppercase Boxes

  1. I watched some unboxings of the March Owlcrate on BookTube and I’m in love with the socks, haha. They’re so cute! Rebel of the Sands is so pretty. I’m excited to read that one. I’ve heard some good things about The Serpent King, it’s not really my genre either, but I think I’m still going to give it a go. Hopefully you enjoy it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

